CAS Library Committee Fall 2018 Report (Regina Hewitt)

Committee Members:

Dr. Roberta Baer (Anthropology), Dr. Mike Coovert (Psychology), Dr. Jennifer Friedman (Sociology) Dr. Anne Latowsky (World Languages), Caitlin Gish (Undergraduate Student Representative) and Zhong Zheng (Graduate Student Representative)

The library committee met with Dean Elizabeth Bell on Sept. 12, 2018 and discussed the role of the Committee in the context of the College. After meeting with the Dean, the Committee elected as Chair Regina Hewitt (English) and identified a number of matters to pursue during the year. These matters included supporting efforts to apply for membership in the Association of Research Libraries; supporting efforts to maintain service levels on all campuses during and after Consolidation; advocating increasing patron's choices between borrowing print or electronic copies of books; and coordinating with the Library's Technical Team to expedite advanced research inquiries.

The Committee made progress on all of these matters and will pursue them further in the Spring.