CAS Faculty Development Spring Report - 2019

During the Spring 2019 semester, the USF College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) Faculty Development Committee helped administer the college's travel award program. The program supports foreign and domestic travel for faculty presenting a paper at a major conference. Based on our experience administering the Fall 2018 awards, the committee decided that eligible applicants must (1) be tenured or tenure-track CAS faculty; (2) be the presenter of the paper, poster, or keynote address and the one travelling to present at the academic conference, and (3) not be a recent (in the last 12 months) CAS-ORS internal award recipient.

As of the March 1st deadline, the committee received applications from 20 CAS faculty. Committee members evaluated these proposals individually, using criteria listed in the call, and then met collectively to make final decisions. Based on these criteria, the committee was able to award grants to 18 different applicants for travel occurring between April and October 2019. Most travel awards were for \$750; a few were less because those faculty had complementary sources of funding.

At our meeting, committee members identified two issues that need to be discussed by next year's committee. First, the call for applications indicated that travel grants were limited to tenure and tenure-track faculty. The committee's intent was to communicate that the travel award program is designed to support conference travel and presentations by faculty (rather than to support graduate students who might be working with those faculty), but the unintended result was that research faculty were excluded by the call. Several committee members felt that research faculty should be eligible along with tenure and tenure-track faculty. Second, the committee ended the 2018-2019 year with a small surplus in travel grant funds. One suggestion was that next year's committee might use these "surplus" funds to establish a separate pilot program that would support conference presentations by continuing lecturers, which could be done while still having the same amount of funding as this year for the regular travel award program.

Steven R. Wilson, Professor
Department of Communication
Faculty Development Committee Chair