Events

2016 Celebration of Teaching Presenters

Diane Allen-Gipson
Assistant Professor
College of Pharmacy
dallengi@health.usf.edu 
Motivational Teaching Approach to Encourage Completing Reading Assignments
Quizzing strategy with the goal of students achieving a 90% knowledge level.

Jessica Altice
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
jaltice@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Anna Armstrong
Assistant Professor
Department of Community and Family Health
amarmstrong@health.usf.edu
Online Group Presentations
A strategy for group projects/presentations guided by the use of formal agreements and work plans.

Floyd Ballard
Instructional Designer
College of Pharmacy
fballard@health.usf.edu
Online Orientation
Delivering an introduction to a large amount of information in an online format.

Kyna Betancourt
Instructor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
kbetancourt@usf.edu
Structured Debates
Applying critical thinking skills by using student debate approaches to a case study to review material.

Diamond Briggs
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
briggsd@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Paula Cate
Instructor
Department of Psychological and Social Foundations
pcate@usf.edu
Face-Talk
Enhancing classroom communication and developing teacher talent.

Oana Cimpean
Learning and Development Facilitator
Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence
oanacimpean@usf.edu
Creative Writing Exercises Using Constraints
Creative writing exercises meant to help students become more confident in their readings of literary texts.

Karen Colucci
Instructor
Department of Teaching and Learning
colucci@usf.edu
Visual Conceptual Anchors
A visual representation of core beliefs and foundational knowledge.

Kamila Dell
Assistant Professor
College of Pharmacy
kdell@health.usf.edu
Visual Application Exercise
Providing hands-on learning experiences to demonstrate abstract concepts.

Darlene DeMarie
Associate Professor
Department of Educational and Psychological Studies
DeMarie@usf.edu
Memory Research Demonstration
Processing the meaning of what students try to learn increases how much they remember.

Debra Dobbs
Associate Professor
School of Aging Studies
ddobbs@usf.edu
Provocative Discussion Questions
Facilitating interesting and relevant class discussions.

Elizabeth Doone
Instructor
Department of Teaching and Learning
edoone@usf.edu
Visual Conceptual Anchors
A visual representation of core beliefs and foundational knowledge.

Joy Fuller
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
fullere@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Kara Fulton
Professional Development Specialist
Global Citizens Project
kafulton@usf.edu
Global Village: Bringing Global Issues into the Classroom
Using global statistics to initiate in-class discussion and bring the world into perspective for students.

Carly Geiss
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
carleys@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Cecil Greek
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
cgreek@usf.edu
Graphic Novel Project
A semester-long, creative term paper substitute.

Monica Heimos
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
mmheimos@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Amanda Helip-Wooley
Learning and Development Facilitator
Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence
ahelip@usf.edu
Case-Based Group Problem Solving
An interactive group format that uses real-world scenarios to foster peer discussion and critical thinking skills.

Olivia Johnson
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
johnson17@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Elizabeth Jones-Mason
Instructor
Department of Cell Biology, Microbiology, and Molecular Biology
jonesmason@usf.edu
Participation Grading Rubric
Assessing class participation objectively.

Autar Kaw
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
kaw@usf.edu
Metacognition Exercises
Activities that focus on helping students "learn to learn."

Hadi Khoshneviss
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
hadi1@mail.usf.edu
Mind Mapping
Identifying student attributes and expectations.

Toria Kwan
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
tkwan@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Nancy Lewis
Adjunct Instructor
Department of English
nelewis@usf.edu
Consistent Communication: Keeping the Lines Buzzing
Consistent communication clears the way for student success in online classes.

Melinda Maconi
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
mmaconi@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Emad Mansour
Learning and Development Facilitator
Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence
emansour@usf.edu
Readiness Assurance Process
Improving students' accountability through individual and group testing with immediate feedback.

Pangri Mehta
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
pmehta3@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Elizabeth Miller
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
emm3@usf.edu
Meta Discussions
Organizing effective student-led discussions.

Sommer Mitchell
Professional Development Specialist
Global Citizens Project
snmitche@usf.edu
Global Village: Bringing Global Issues into the Classroom
Using global statistics to initiate in-class discussion and bring the world into perspective for students.

Wilfrido Moreno
Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
wmoreno@usf.edu
Teaching Using Spacing and Inter-leaving
The impact of using distributed practice and interleaving to guide long-term learning.

Alison Oberne
Instructor
College of Public Health
aoberne@health.usf.edu
Online Video Discussion Posts
Promoting engagement in online classes throughout the semester.

Julio Parreño
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering
juliodanielp@mail.usf.edu
Teaching Using Spacing and Inter-leaving
The impact of using distributed practice and interleaving to guide long-term learning.

Christina Partin
Instructor
Department of Sociology
cmpartin@usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.
Preparing Future Faculty: Graduate Teacher Training in Terminal Master's Degree Programs
Generating well-rounded teachers (in-person and online) through direct mentorship and coursework.

Richard Pollenz
Associate Dean
Undergraduate Studies
pollenz@usf.edu
Post-It Action Planning Exercise
An activity used to collectively build a plan of action or map out ideas related to a prompt.

Joann Farrell Quinn
Assistant Professor
Morsani College of Medicine
joannq@health.usf.edu
Establishing New Concepts
Using case studies to introduce and examine new course topics.

Manny Ramirez
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
manuel1@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Aurora Sanchez-Anguiano
Associate Professor
College of Public Health
asanchez@health.usf.edu
Investigative Research Project
Engaging students in "learning by doing."

Brittany Sears
Learning and Development Facilitator
Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence
Brittany.Sears@ucf.edu
Elevator Talks
Students design concise summaries of their projects to improve communication and critical thinking abilities.

Kevin Sellers
Instructional Designer
College of Pharmacy
sellersk@health.usf.edu
Respect for Human Dignity Exercise
Addressing emotional and behavioral change in the classroom.

Mary Soliman
Assistant Professor
College of Pharmacy
marysoliman@health.usf.edu
Flipped Classroom Strategies
Lecture-based learning with an active learning component.

Steven Surrency
Instructor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
surrency@usf.edu
Non-Traditional Assignments
Assessments in which students create multimedia content.

Erica L. Toothman
Instructor
Department of Sociology
eltoothman@usf.edu
Preparing Future Faculty: Graduate Teacher Training in Terminal Master's Degree Programs
Generating well-rounded teachers (in-person and online) through direct mentorship and coursework.

Jessie Turner
Instructor
Department of Women's and Gender Studies
jessieturner@usf.edu
Infomercials, Movie Trailers, and Podcasts, Oh, My! Students Performing Any Course Content
Students design/perform infomercials and movie trailers to synthesize content.

Wenonah Venter
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Sociology
wventer@mail.usf.edu
A Team-Based Approach to TA Teaching
The experiences of an instructor and several GTA's using an alternate model of GTA integration in undergraduate instruction.

Megan Voeller
Instructor
Institute for Research in Art
mvoeller@usf.edu
Visual Thinking Strategies
Improving critical thinking skills through teacher-facilitated discussions of visual images.

Gwendolyn Wantuch
Assistant Professor
College of Pharmacy
gwantuch@health.usf.edu
Visual Application Exercise
Providing hands-on learning experiences to demonstrate abstract concepts.

Milton Wendland
Instructor
Department of Women's and Gender Studies
miltonw@usf.edu
Syllabus Mysteries
Motivating students to read the syllabus.

Kevin Yee
Director
Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence
kyee@usf.edu
Learning Student Names in the First Ten Minutes
Building rapport and establishing classroom community quickly.