Faculty & Staff

Faculty Directory

 

 

alcantar

Dr. Norma Alcantar 
Professor
Research Areas: Surface Forces and Chemical Characterization, Micellar Surfactants, Nanoparticles, and Organic/Inorganic Thin Films
Office: ENC 3201  |  norma@usf.edu  |  813-974-8009  |  Website

 

venkat

Dr. Venkat R. Bhethanabotla 
Professor and Director of Materials Science & Engineering
Research Areas: Biosensors, Plasmonics, Computational Catalysis 
Office: IDRB 218  |  bhethana@usf.edu  |  813-974-3041  |  Website

 

busot

Dr. J. Carlos Busot 
Emeritus Professor
Research Areas:  Reactor design and Simulation, Irreversible Thermodynamics, Engineering Education

 

campbell

Dr. Scott Campbell
Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
Research Areas: Solution Thermodynamics, Phase Equilibria, Environmental Monitoring and Modeling, Semiconductor Processing
Office: ENC 3405  |  campbell@usf.edu  |  813-974-3907  |  Website

 

eddins

Dr. David Eddins
Interdisciplinary Professor
Research Areas:  Correlates of Auditory Perception, Auditory Perception of the Pathological Voice, Models of Auditory Processing
Office: PCD 4026  |  
deddins@usf.edu  |  813-974-2464  |  Website

 

frisina

Dr. Robert Frisina, Jr 
Professor and Director of BME Program
Research Areas:  Development of Bio-therapeutic Systems, Devices and Compounds for Treating Sensory Deficits; Emphasis on Bench-to-Bedside Investigations of the Auditory System, and Translational Research on Deafness and Other Neuroengineering Applications.
Office: ENC 3504  | rfrisina@usf.edu  |  813-974-4394  |  Website

 

gallant

Dr. Nathan D. Gallant
Interdisciplinary Professor
Research Areas: Materials, Tissue Engineering, Mechanotransduction
Office: ENC 2407  |  ngallant@usf.edu  |  813-974-5840  |  Website

 

gilbert

Dr. Richard Gilbert
Professor
Research Areas: Material Science, Biomedical Systems, Electrochemotherapy, Electrogenetherapy, Instrumentation, Engineering Education, and Drug delivery
Office: ENC 2210  |  gilbert@usf.edu  |  813-974-2139  |  Website

 

goswami

Dr. Yogi Goswami 
Distinguished University Professor
Research Areas:  Energy Conversion, Solar Energy, Hydrogen Energy and Fuel Cells, Thermodynamics and Heat Transfer, HVAC
Office: ENB 260A  |  goswami@usf.edu  |  813-974-0956  |  Website

 

gupta

Dr. Vinay Gupta
Professor, Chemical Graduate Advisor
Research Areas: Interfacial Phenomena, Polymeric Materials, Organic – Inorganic Composites, Self – Assembled Systems, Molecular Recognition, Nanoscale/Smart Materials
Office: ENC 3200  |  vkgupta@usf.edu  |  813-974-0851  |  Website

 

henderson
Dr. Clifford L.Henderson
Chair and Professor
Research Areas: Polymer ultra-thin films and advanced membranes, Advanced materials and processes for semiconductor patterning, novel routes to manufacturing graphene and graphene devices
Office: ENC 3400  |  clhenderson@usf.edu  | 813-974-6354   

 

 

jaroszeski

Dr. Mark Jaroszeski
Associate Professor and BME Minor Advisor
Research Areas: Drug and Gene Delivery, Electrofusion, Biomedical Instrumentation, Electrophoresis
Office: ENG 243  |  mjarosze@usf.edu  |  813-974-4662
Curriculum Vitae  |  NIH Style Biographical Sketch

 

joseph

Dr. Babu Joseph
Professor 
Research Areas: Modeling, Simulation and Control, Multi – scale Modeling of Systems, Clean Liquid Fuels from Biomass, Fischer – Tropsch Synthesis
Office: IDRB 212A and ENC 3403  |  bjoseph@usf.edu  |  813-974-0692  |  Website

 

koria

 Dr. Piyush Koria 
Associate Professor
Research Areas: Tissue Engineering & Regenerative Medicine, Microscale Technologies, Biomaterials, Nanomedicine
Office: ENG 248  |  pkoria@usf.edu  |  813-974-6243  |  Website

 

kuhn

Dr. John N. Kuhn
Associate Professor
Research Areas: Heterogeneous Catalysis, Materials Chemistry, Electro – catalysis, Engineering Education, Renewable Energy
Office: IDRB 202D  |  jnkuhn@usf.edu  |  813-974-6498  |  Website

 

Lee

Dr. William E. Lee III, PE
Professor
Research Areas: Biomechanics, Prosthetic Design, Creative Processes, Education 
Office: ENG 245  |  wlee2@usf.edu  |  813-974-2136

 

passaglia

Dr. Christopher Passaglia
Associate Professor
Research Areas: Vision Systems, Neural Signal Processing, Computational Modeling, Retinal Physiology and Disease
Office: ENG 247  |  passaglia@usf.edu  |  813-974-7140  |  Website

 

dr-sandy-pettit

Dr. Sandy Pettit, PE
Instructor II
Research Areas: Pedagogy and Engineering Education
Office: ENC 3203  |  spettit@usf.edu  |  813-974-1304

 

pyayt

Dr. Anna Pyayt
Assistant Professor
Research Areas:  Nano-photonic chips for Biomedicine
Office: IDRB 202E  |  pyayt@usf.edu  |  813-974-6250  |  Website

 

 

sagues

Dr. Alberto A. Sagüés 
Interdisciplinary Professor
Research Areas: Corrosion of Engineering Materials, Materials for Infrastructure, Materials for Energy Systems Physical Metallurgy, Scientific Instrumentation, Nuclear Waste Disposal 
Office: ENL 111  |  sagues@usf.edu  |  813-974-5819  |  Website

 

smith

Dr. Carlos Smith
Emeritus Professor
Research Areas: Automatic process control, Dynamic process modeling, Process engineering
smithca@usf.edu

 

sunol

Dr. Aydin K. Sunol, PE
Professor
Research Areas: Systems engineering, Supercritical fluid technology, Green Engineering, Product and Process Design
Office: ENC 3217  |  asunol@usf.edu  |  813-974-3566  |  Website

 

toomey

Dr. Ryan Toomey 
Associate Professor
Research Areas:  Responsive Polymers, Hydrogels
Office: ENC 3503  |  toomey@usf.edu  |  813-974-9164

 

walton

Dr. Joseph P. Walton
Interdisciplinary Professor
Research Areas:  Neural Bases of Age – Related Hearing Loss, Brain Plasticity Following Injury, Neural Coding of Complex Sounds
Office: PCD 4022  |  jwalton1@usf.edu  |  813-974-4634  |  Website