People

Faculty

Glen Besterfield
Associate Professor
Executive Director, INTO USF
Research Area: Finite Element Analysis, Computational Mechanics, Mechanical Design, Bascule bridges
Email: besterfi@usf.edu
Phone: 813-905-4681

Stephanie Carey
Assistant Research Professor
Research Area: Applied Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Engineering, Prosthetics
Email: scarey3@usf.edu
Office: ENG 08
Phone: 813-974-5765
Lab Website

Wenjun (Rebecca) Cai
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Metallurgy, Mechanical behavior, Nanomaterials, Materials Characterization, Tribology.
Email: caiw@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2508
Phone: 813-974-7909
Lab Website

Nathan Crane
Associate Professor
Research Area: Design, Materials, and Manufacturing
Email: ncrane@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2206
Phone: 813-974-8586
Website

Don Dekker
Adjunct Professor
Research Area: Engineering Design
Email: dekker@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2305
Phone: 813-974-5629

John Dixon
Instructor
Research Area: Porous Media, Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, Education
Email: dixonj1@usf.edu
Office: ENC 1202
Phone: 813-974-5426

Rajiv Dubey
Professor & Department Chair
Research Area: Rehabilitation Robotics; Prosthetics and Orthotics, Dynamic Systems and Controls
Email: dubey@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2303
Phone: 813-974-5619
Lab Website

Delcie Durham
Professor Emerita
Research Area: Sustainable Materials and Manufacturing
Email: drdurham@usf.edu
Office: ENB 261A
Phone:

Jonathan Gaines
Instructor
Research Area: Human-Robot Collaborative Systems, Co-Robotics Technology for Non-Traditional Populations, STEM Education, Sensor Perception
Email: gainesj@usf.edu
Office: ENC 1203
Phone: 813-974-5578

Nathan Gallant
Associate Professor
Research Area: Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Email: ngallant@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2504
Phone: 813-974-5840
Website

Rasim Guldiken
Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor
Research Area: Micro & Nano Sensors and Transducers
Email: guldiken@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2216
Phone: 813-974-5628
Website

Daniel Hess
Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Research Area: Vibrations, Friction, Fasteners
Email: hess@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2205
Phone: 813-974-5643

Autar Kaw
Professor
Research Area: Engineering Education Research, Mechanics
Email: kaw@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2215
Phone: 813-974-5626
Website
YouTube Channel
Blog

Ashok Kumar
Professor
Research Area: Nanomaterials, Microelectronics, Thin Film Technology
Email: kumar@usf.edu
Office: NTA 102
Phone: 813-974-3942
Website
Lab Website

Craig Lusk
Associate Professor
Research Area: Compliant Mechanisms and Biomechanics
Email: clusk2@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2507
Phone: 813-974-1394

Ajit Mujumdar
Instructor
Research Area: Powder Technology, Discrete Element Simulations
Email: ajit@usf.edu
Office: ENC 1201
Phone: 813-974-9677
Website

David Murphy
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Fluid Mechanics, Animal Biomechanics, Oil Spills
Email: davidmurphy@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2204
Phone: 813-974-5625
Website

Jose Porteiro
Professor
Research Area: Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer
Email: porteiro@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2217
Phone: 813-974-5644

Frank Pyrtle, III
Instructor
Research Area: Thermal Management, Heat Transfer
Email: pyrtle@usf.edu
Office: ENC 3507
Phone: 813-974-9015
Website

Kyle Reed
Associate Professor
Research Area: Rehabilitation Engineering and Haptics
Email: kylereed@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2503
Phone: 813-974-2385
Website
Lab Website

Alex Volinsky
Associate Professor
Research Area: Thin Films Processing, Mechanical Properties and Characterization
Email: volinsky@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2214
Phone: 813-974-5658
Website

Stuart Wilkinson
Associate Professor
Research Area: Energy Systems Design, Bionomic Engineering
Email: wilkinso@usf.edu
Office: ENG 131
Phone: 813-974-5645

Shuh Jing Ying
Professor Emeritus
Email: ying@usf.edu
Office: ENG 141
Phone: 813-974-5627

Tansel Yucelen
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Systems and Control 
Email: yucelen@usf.edu
Office: ENC 2209
Phone: 813-974-5656
Website