Tips and Tricks

Recover Deleted Items

When an item is deleted, it is moved to the Deleted Items folder. Items are retained in the Deleted Items folder for a period of 30 days, then they are automatically purged.  Once removed from the Deleted Items folder, an item is still recoverable for 14 days using the Recover Deleted Items feature.

If you manually remove an item from the Deleted Items folder, the 14 day recovery period starts from that point in time. If an item is deleted using the Shift+Delete key combination, known as a hard delete, the item is only recoverable for a period of 14 days. 

In Office 365, there's a single 'recover deleted items' bin. Meaning, no matter what folder or sub-folder you click to recover items from, it will show one list of all recoverable messages available for the entire mailbox.  When recovering items they do not return to the folder they were deleted from, but instead go to the folder highlighted when you clicked Recover.  This is particularly important to note when recovering Contacts or Calendar entries.  Make sure you have highlighted the correct folder before recovering those items if you want them to go back to your Contacts folder, or as entries on your Calendar.

It is important to note that folders cannot be recovered once they have been purged from the Deleted Items folder.

More Information