CMS Technical Guide
Once a page has been edited, it can either be sen to another user of approval, or it can be published directly to the site.
Note: prior to your site going live for the first time, all pages/changes. etc. will be published to the test site by default. Once your site has launched, you will have the option of publishing to either the test site or the live site.
The ability to publish pages is based on permissions.
To access the publish options from the folder structure, click on the "Publish" drop down menu under the Options column.
A "Publish" button will appear at the top of the page.
To publish the page, simply click on this button. After completing the elements described below, click the "Publish" button that appears at the bottom of the publishing screen. Clicking the "Publish" button will bring up a publish screen. Within this screen the following tools may be found:
• Final Check – This allows a final spell check, link check, and page validation to be completed
before publishing the page. The available tools will vary based on the administrator
settings. Simply click on the button(s) for the type of check you would like to run.
• Publish Target – This provides the option to publish to the live (production) site or the test site. This menu only appears after your site has been launched. Prior to that, all pages are automatically published to your test site.
• Version Description – This will allow a version description to be included in order to indicate what was updated and why the page is being published. This can be used when choosing previous versions in which to revert.
Once the publish is complete, the system will present a success message, which includes a link to view the published page in a new window.
It is also possible to publish multiple pages within a directory simultaneously. Keep in mind that doing this does not allow for:
• Final Check
• Version Description(s)
From within the folder structure, simply check the boxes next to the page(s) to be published, and click "Publish" found at the top of the screen. Keep in mind that the system will only allow pages to be published that do not require approval and are not checked out to another user. If a warning is displayed, simply uncheck the page(s) indicated in the warning, and click "Publish" again.
When users want to publish content, but wish to do so at a later date, they can utilize the Scheduled Publish tool. A scheduled publish can only be canceled or modified by the user who set the schedule or an administrator. "Schedule" is part of the Publish dialog.
Clicking "Schedule" will bring up a screen in which the scheduling can be completed.
1. Select the date.
2. Select the time.
3. Indicate whether or not the publish should repeat.
4. Create an optional email message to be sent upon completion of the publish to the Dashboard. - Keeping the checkbox next to "Send Copy to Email" checked will send the completed publish message to your usf.edu email address as well as within the USF CMS. If this is unchecked, the message will be sent through the USF CMS only.
5. Click Schedule.
Submit for Approval
If an approval workflow is in place, and users, content areas, or a content type have had an approver assigned, then a user may have to send the content for approval rather than being able to publish directly. A "Submit" button will appear if workflow is in place. Content must be checked out before it can be submitted for approval.
When "Submit for Approval" is clicked, a mail window will appear. Sending the page to a user will transfer the checked out status from the current editor to the person to whom the page is sent.
1. Select the user from the drop-down next to the To field. If an approver has been enforced, the To field is auto-populated, and there will not be a drop-down available.
2. Fill out the necessary text fields.
3. Enter a Message to the user to whom the message is being sent providing any necessary information.
4. The checkbox next to "Send Copy to Email" allows the request for review to be sent to the user's external email address as included in the user settings. This allows the user to receive an indication that action is to be completed without having to log into the USF CMS. Unchecking this option will only send the message through the USF CMS system.
5. Click Submit.