People

Faculty

The Department of English faculty directory and biographies are in the sections below. To see faculty listed by program, visit the graduate creative writing, literature, and rhetoric & composition faculty pages. Visit our digital bookcase to see recent and past faculty publications.

Notice: As many employees are temporarily working remotely, e-mail is the suggested method of contact at this time.

Sarasota-Manatee campus

Permanent Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office
Lipscomb, Valerie Associate Chair, Professor
vlipscom@usf.edu  941-359-4718 SMC C258

Rose, Jane
Associate Professor

janerose@usf.edu  941-359-4469 N/a
Senapati, Su
Professor of Instruction
sbs2@usf.edu 941-359-4323 SMC B128
Stewart, John
Associate Instructor
stewartj1@usf.edu 941-359-4262 SMC C267

Tillman, Nathan Assistant Professor of Instruction

ntillman@usf.edu   941-359-4739  
Turner, Timothy
Associate Professor
taturner@usf.edu 941-359-4209 SMC C245A

Visiting Faculty

Name E-mail Phone
Melnik, Jan
Assistant Instructor
jmelnik@usf.edu  941-359-4276

St. Petersburg campus

Permanent Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office

Buckner Armstrong, Julie
Professor

jba@usf.edu  727-873-4061 HBR 208

Conner, Trey
Associate Professor

conner@usf.edu  727-873-4783 HBR 127

Gresham, S. Morgan Associate Professor

gresham@usf.edu   727-873-4784 HBR 129

Hallock, Thomas
Professor

thallock@usf.edu 727-873-4954 HBR 204

Jones, Heather
Associate Professor of Instruction

heatherjone@usf.edu 727-873-4435 HBR 205

Michael, Magali
Professor

mcmichael2@usf.edu 727-873-4790  

McCracken, Jill
Professor

mccracken@usf.edu 727-873-4740 HBR 128

Robinson, Geveryl Assistant Professor of Instruction

geveryl@usf.edu 727-873-4481  HBR 126

Starks, Lisa
Professor

starks@usf.edu 727-873-4158 HBR 207

Adjunct Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office
Aftanas, Roxanne raftanas@usf.edu Online Online
Angello, Elizabeth eangello@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120
Boda, Jay boda@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120
Boynton, Nicholas nboynton@usf.edu 727-873-4481 HBR 126
Oswald, Codey codeyoswald@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120
Peterson, Anda andap@usf.edu Online HBR 205
Prisley, Liz eprisley@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120
Shea, Peter pshea@usf.edu Online Online
Tobienne, Francis ftobienne@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120
True, J. D. jtrue@usf.edu Online Online
Ulrich, Fred ulrichf@usf.edu 727-873-4806 HBR 120

Tampa campus

Permanent Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office

Allukian, Kristin
Assistant Professor

kallukian@usf.edu

813-974-9529

CPR 322

Brown, Karen
Professor of Instruction

kbgonzal@usf.edu

813-974-4856

CPR 283

Cook, Jessica
Associate Professor of Instruction

jlcook4@usf.edu

813-974-2193

CPR 358-H

Diecidue, Sheila Professor of Instruction

diecidue@usf.edu

813-974-5808

CPR 358-J

Discenza, Nicole
Professor

ndiscenza@usf.edu

813-974-1887

CPR 358-B

Fleming, John Professor

johnfleming@usf.edu

813-974-9567

CPR 318

Gould, Marty
Associate Professor

mgould@usf.edu

813-974-9474

CPR 358-F

Grewal, Gurleen
Associate Professor

grewal@usf.edu

813-974-7964

CPR 301-H

Herndl, CarlProfessor

cgh@usf.edu

813-974-9557

CPR 335

Hewitt, Regina
Professor

rhewitt@usf.edu

813-974-9514

CPR 325

Hirsh, Elizabeth Associate Professor

hirsh@usf.edu

813-974-9481

CPR 301-B

Hopler, Jay
Professor

jhopler@usf.edu

813-974-9565

CPR 323

Irizarry, Ylce Associate Professor

yirizarry@usf.edu

813-974-7868

CPR 329

Jacobs, Debra Associate Professor

djacobs@usf.edu

813-974-9473

CPR 333

Johnson, Meredith
Professor

maj5@usf.edu

813-974-0109

CPR 301-J

Johnson, Nathan 
Associate Professor

nathanjohnson@usf.edu

813-974-9542

CPR 384

Jones, Emily
Assistant Professor

egjones@usf.edu

813-974-9546

CPR 315

Karpay, Joyce
Professor of Instruction

jkarpay@usf.edu

813-974-9520

CPR 358-P

Koets, Julia
Assistant Professor

 juliakoets@usf.edu 813-974-9527 CPR 332

Le, Quynh Nhu
Associate Professor

nhule@usf.edu

813-974-9515

CPR 327

Leahy, Mark
Professor of Instruction

markleahy@usf.edu

813-974-4398

CPR 306-A

Leib, Mark
Assistant Instructor

mleib@usf.edu

813-974-9534

CPR 281

Lemons, Gary Professor

glemons@usf.edu

813-974-9191

CPR 331

Lennon, John Associate Professor

jflennon@usf.edu

813-974-2663

CPR 360-D

Maldonado, José Ángel
Assistant Professor

joseamaldonado@usf.edu 

 813-974-5165

CPR 301-M

Melonçon, Lisa Professor

meloncon@usf.edu

813-974-9552

CPR 311

Metzger, Elizabeth Associate Professor

emetzger@usf.edu

813-974-9538

CPR 385

Mooney, Susan Associate Professor

smooney@usf.edu

813-974-9504

CPR 301-N

Moxley, Joe 
Professor

mox@usf.edu

 813-974-3821

CPR 386

Patterson, Cynthia
Associate Professor

cpatterson@usf.edu

813-974-9501

CPR 301-G

Robertson, Liane
Associate Professor

lianerobertson@usf.edu

 

CPR 358-M

Roselló, Jarod
Associate Professor

jrosello@usf.edu

813-974-1313

CPR 313

Runge, Laura
Professor

runge@usf.edu

813-974-9496

CPR 360-A

Scenters-Zapico, Natalie
Assistant Professor

nascenterszapico@usf.edu 

 

CPR 311

Sellers, Heather Professor

sellersh@usf.edu

813-974-9532

CPR 334

Shuman, Michael Professor of Instruction

mshuman@usf.edu

813-974-5763

CPR 358-N

Sipiora, Phillip Professor

sipiora@usf.edu

813-974-9465

CPR 358-A

Tackitt, Alaina Assistant Professor of Instruction

atackitt@usf.edu

813-974-5051

CPR 301-A

Taylor, Michelle
Assistant Professor of Instruction

mmtaylor2@usf.edu

813-974-9467

CPR 358-D

Zarlengo, Tanya Assistant Professor of Instruction tzarlengo@usf.edu 813-974-5051 CPR 306

Visiting Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office

Adams, Ashely

ashelyadams@usf.edu

 

CPR 209

Bennington, Spencer

bennington1@usf.edu

  CPR 286

Eyestone, Dawn

eyestone@usf.edu

813-974-2151

CPR 340

Kurz, Lindsay

lhkurz@usf.edu    CPR 316

Laitinen, Dana

dana5@usf.edu    CPR 301-C
McKenzie, Weena wmckenzi@usf.edu   CPR 284

Pinson, Sharon

spinson@usf.edu

 813-974-8769

CPR 301-F

Ricketts, Elizabeth

ericketts@usf.edu   CPR 301-C

Wholuba, Anita

awholuba@usf.edu

 

CPR 279

Adjunct Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office

Banke, Krysta

krystabanke@usf.edu    

Basso, Ann

abasso@usf.edu 813-974-2151 CPR 340

Carr, Nancy

nancycarr@usf.edu

 

 

Campbell, Jenna

jmmille7@usf.edu

 

CPR 454

Conner, John

jconner3@usf.edu

813-974-6420

CPR 340

Dankel, Tara

dankel@usf.edu

 

CPR 340

Day, Tim

tday@usf.edu

 

CPR 340

Feuerherdt, Stacy

sfeuerherdt@usf.edu   CPR 454

Forde-Mazrui, Will

willfordemaz@usf.edu   CPR 340

Garcia, Edwin

garcia49@usf.edu   CPR 454

Gill, Janie

jlgill1@usf.edu   CPR 340

Gravano, Alan

alangravano@usf.edu

 

CPR 454

Karunaratne, Renuka

rkarunar@usf.edu

813-384-9792

CPR 340

Khawaja, Anastasia

ajkhawaja@usf.edu

 813-974-2421

CPR 340

Malavalli, Deepa

deepam@usf.edu

 

BEH 102

Martin, Jason

jrmarti2@usf.edu

813-974-6420

 

McAdams, James

jtmcadams@usf.edu

813-974-3835

CPR 454

McLeod, Deborah

dsmcleod@usf.edu

813-974-2421

 

Nusspickel, Mark

mnusspic@usf.edu

813-974-2151

CPR 340

Oswald, Codey

codeyoswald@usf.edu  727-873-4156 CPR 454

Pearsall, Sarah

spearsall@usf.edu 813-974-9511  

Stowe, Michael

mjstowe@usf.edu 

813-974-8508

CPR 360

Wray, Sarah

swray@usf.edu

 

CPR 340

Affiliated Faculty

Name Title Contact

Adams, Charles

Professor, Dean of the Honors College

chadams@usf.edu

Gay, Kristen

Associate Director of the Writing Studio

kristengay@usf.edu

Kicak, Elizabeth

Instructor, Director of Humanities Institute

ekicak@usf.edu

Plant, Deborah

Associate Professor (Retired)

plant@usf.edu

Emeriti Faculty