About Us

Advisory Boards


The Advisory Board exists to support USF’s MPA program by providing strategic advice and input on programmatic ideas, as well as guidance in areas of curriculum, program quality, the needs of potential employers, internships, community partnerships, and alumni engagement.

2021 Press Release - USF MPA Program Grows Advisory Board With New Members

Steven "Steve" Spina, PhD, MPA Michael "Mike" Suarez, MPA Luis Viera  
steven-spinaInterim City Manager - City of Temple Terrace mike-suarezPresident - Suarez Insurance luis-vieraCouncil Member, District 7 - City of Tampa  


Name Title
Elizabeth "Liz" Abernathy, AICP Director, Planning & Development Services - City of St. Petersburg
Beth Alden, AICP Executive Director - Hillsborough Transportation Planning Organization
Alexandra "Ali" Ankudowich, AICP Senior Planner - Alfred Benesch & Company
Connor Baird Student Planning Organization President - University of South Florida
Sean Baraoidan, MURP Sustainability Planner - REAL Building Consultants
Mark Bennett, AICP Director, Planning & Development Services - City of Lake Wales
Stephen Benson, MURP, AICP Director, City Planning Department - City of Tampa
Mark Bentley, JD, AICP Partner - Johnson Pope Bokor Ruppel & Burns, LLP
Merle Bishop, FAICP Senior Planner - Pennoni
Whit Blanton, FAICP Executive Director - Forward Pinellas
Gene Boles, FAICP Founder / Planning Consultant - Building Livable Communities, Inc
Alana Brasier, MURP, AICP Chief Transportation Planner, Mobility Department - City of Tampa
Emily Caltagirone Technical Consultant / Advisor - ESRI
Ryan Chapdelain General Manager, Planning Department - City of Sarasota
Katrina Corcoran, MURP, AICP Senior Planner - Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission
Jacob Cremer, JD Attorney - Stearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A.
Melissa Dickens, AICP Strategic Planning & Policy Manager - Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission
Amber Dickerson, AICP Co-Founder - Urban Planning Innovations, LLC
Clarence Eng, FAICP Senior Transit Project Manager - Kimley-Horn & Associates
Laura Everitt, AICP Transit Planner - Alfred Benesch & Company
Abbye Feeley Director, Development & Growth Management - City of Tampa
Nelson Galeano Transportation Planning Manager - Manatee County
Lucia Garsys, FAICP Deputy County Administrator, Development & Infrastructure - Hillsborough County
Edward "Ed" Johnson East Tampa Community Redevelopment Area Manager - City of Tampa
Evan Johnson, AICP Strategic Initiatives Manager, Planning Department - Pinellas County
Frank Kalpakis, AICP Managing Principal - Renaissance Planning Group
Karen Kress, AICP Director, Transportation & Planning - Tampa Downtown Partnership
Ryan Manasse Director, Development & Planning - Johnson Pope Bokor Ruppel & Burns, LLP
Michael Maness, PhD Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering Department - University of South Florida
Stefanie McQueen, AICP Senior Planner - HDR
Edward "Ed" Mierzejewski, PhD Former Senior Project Manager - Renaissance Planning Group
Richard Perez, AICP Executive Planner - Hillsborough County
Carole Post, JD Vice President, Facilities & Public Safety Operations - University of South Florida
Taryn Sabia, EdM Director & Research Associate, Florida Center for Community Design & Research - University of South Florida
Michael "Troy" Salisbury, MPA, AICP Planning Manager, Innovation & Resiliency - Hillsborough County
Steven "Steve" Schukraft, AICP Planning & Urban Design Manager - HDR
Scott Swearengen, AICP Long Range Planning Manager - Pinellas County
Brenda Thrower Economic Development Specialist - City of Tampa
Erica Wennlund, MURP Planner II, Long Range Planning - Pasco County
Allison Yeh, AICP Executive Planner & Sustainability Coordinator - Hillsborough Transportation Planning Organization
Melissa Zornitta, FAICP Executive Director - Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission