Student Success Council


The Student Success Council was formed in August 2010 and charged with the implementation of the Student Success Task Force recommendations, most notably the institutionalization of the USF student success initiative. The council continues to coordinate and drive the policies, programs, and practices to ensure that all USF students graduate in a timely manner with the degree of their choice, fully prepared for success in the workforce or graduate and professional schools, with the highest levels of student satisfaction and the lowest levels of indebtedness.



Paul Dosal
Vice President, Student Success



Christopher Griffin
President, Student Government Association

Donna Washington
President, Administrative and Professional Council

Carolyn Mercurio Dove
President, Staff Senate

David Allsopp
Assistant Dean, Educator Preparation, College of Education

Timothy Anderson
Associate Athletic Director, Intercollegiate Athletics

Ruth Huntley Bahr
Interim Assistant Dean, Office of Graduate Studies

Catherine Batsche
Associate Dean, College of Behavioral and Community Sciences

James Cavendish
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology

Nancy Cunningham
Director of Academic Services, USF Tampa Library

Karen Frank
Assistant Dean, College of The Arts

Valerie Harwood
Professor and Chair, Integrative Biology

Alicia Jones
Senior Academic Advisor, Honors College

Bill McCausland
Associate Vice President, University Advancement

Jackie Nelson
Senior Director, Undergraduate Programs, Muma College of Business

Tory Peek
Instructor, Office of Undergraduate Programs, College of Public Health

Robert Potter
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Kingsley Reeves
Assistant Professor, College of Engineering

Shirley Smith
Director, Office of Student Diversity and Enrichment Division, Educational Affairs at
USF Health Morsani College of Medicine

Calvin Williams
Vice President, Administrative Services


Ex Officio

Valeria Garcia
Assistant Vice President, Office of Decision Support

Carrie Garcia
Director, Application Services, Information Technology

Lillian Wichinsky
Director, Office of Community Engagement & Partnership


Executive Associate

Carmen Goldsmith
Special Assistant to the Vice President of Student Success