Core Areas


The General Education portion of the FKL Core Curriculum consists of six Core Areas of Knowledge and Inquiry. These Core Areas are:

  1. English Composition (CAEC)
  2. Fine Arts (CAFA) and Humanities (CAHU)
  3. Human and Cultural Diversity in a Global Context (CAGC)
  4. Mathematics (CAMA) and Quantitative Reasoning (CAQR)
  5. Natural Sciences: Physical (CANP) and Life (CANL)
  6. Social and Behavioral Sciences (CASB)

Courses included in General Education may be approved for only one Core Area.