The Foundations of Knowledge and Learning (FKL) Core Curriculum is characterized by a set of fourteen "Dimensions" or areas of emphasis, which include intellectual strategies, approaches to knowledge and processes of acquiring knowledge, perspectives and their contexts, and the basic academic competencies required of all baccalaureate degrees. Their purpose is to assure that students have the opportunity to develop an array of knowledge, skills, and understandings that help them grasp the expansive and interdisciplinary nature of the liberal arts education.

A minimum of four dimensions must be components of each approved General Education course. A minimum of three dimensions must be components of each approved Capstone Learning Experience course. Two of the Dimensions, Critical Thinking and Inquiry, must be a part of all approved courses. These fourteen dimensions are incorporated into courses that are certified as meeting the general education core curriculum:

  1. Critical Thinking
  2. Inquiry
  3. Scientific Processes
  4. Creative and Interpretive Processes and Experiences
  5. Global Context
  6. Human Historical Context and Process
  7. Environmental Perspectives
  8. Human and Cultural Diversity
  9. Ethical Perspectives
  10. Inter-relationships among Disciplines
  11. Written Language Skills
  12. Oral Language Skills
  13. Information Literacy
  14. Quantitative Literacy