University of South Florida


Megan Heskett learns she won the 2023 Daisy Award

Megan Heskett earns 2023 Daisy Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty 

Megan Heskett Receives Prestigious Nursing Daisy Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty

The University of South Florida College of Nursing hosted its fourth annual Daisy Award Presentation on Monday, December 4, to announce and honor the esteemed 2023 Daisy Award winner and nominees. 

A distinguished leader among 37 faculty nominees, Megan Heskett emerged for her exceptional dedication and extensive impact on USF College of Nursing students. 

“Ms. Heskett brings an unparalleled level of enthusiasm into each lesson, lecture, and lab. While simultaneously leveraging her skill, experience, and intellect to maintain professionalism and individualized approaches to each student. I am equally impressed by her ability to answer our questions as I am by her ability to admit when she doesn't have the perfect answer. Then, with humility and curiosity will research any topic together. I am continually impressed by her energy and passion, especially considering her non-teacher roles as a mom, student, and practicing nurse.”

Along with the iconic Daisy Honoree pin and Healer’s Touch Sculpture from Zimbabwe, Heskett is also eligible for professional development, education, and wellness benefits from The DAISY Foundation. 

The Daisy Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty celebrates outstanding contributions to nursing education. The DAISY Foundation was Established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died from complications of the autoimmune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. 

Mark and Bonnie Barnes, founders of The DAISY Foundation, visited the College in September 2019, sharing their vision to extend the honor beyond bedside care to celebrate the educators nurturing the nurses of tomorrow. This visionary move led to the creation of the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty, acknowledging the profound impact faculty members have on nursing students and patient outcomes. This partnership also led to the College’s participation in a multi-institutional research study on the effects of meaningful recognition. 

The Daisy Award signifies not only individual excellence but also the collective ambition of educators who instill values of compassion and excellence in nursing.

2023 Daisy Award Nominees:

Faculty Nominees
Dr. Theresa Beckie
Dr. Michelle Canale
Dr. Christina Cardy
Dr. Andrea Efre
Dr. Victoria Marshall
Dr. Duellyn Pandis
Dr. Stephanie Prescott
Dr. Eleanor Rawson
Dr. Jingying Zhang
Dr. Karen Aul
Dr. Allyson Duffy
Ms. Elena Eldridge
Ms. Mitzy Flores
Dr. Ivonne Hernandez
Ms. Megan Heskett
Ms. Farah Manigat
Dr. Susan Parda-Watters
Dr. Sean Sharp
Dr. Aissa Scott
Ms. Melanie Stroup
Dr. Kailey Rinaldi
Dr. Marc Rosales
Dr. Herica Torres Alzate
Dr. Anu Ullas
Dr. Cheryl Zambroski

Adjunct Nominees
Dr. Anusuyadevi Balaji
Dr. Shona Bates
Dr. Mariam Dam
Ms. Valery Davis
Dr. Dorothie Durosier-Mertilus
Mr. Daniel Gonzalez
Dr. Rebecca Koerner
Ms. Jordan-Lee Slowik
Dr. Stephanie Mathews-Brashear
Ms. Cynthia Neavins
Dr. Subrena Powell
Ms. Cynthia Rodriguez


Return to article listing

About Department News

USF Health College of Nursing News highlights the great work of our trailblazing faculty, staff, and students! The College of Nursing is an integral part of USF Health and the University of South Florida. USF Health College of Nursing -- Where Nursing Trailblazers Belong!