News and Events


  • PhD student, Ms. Valery Ortiz Jiménez (Major advisor: Prof. Manh-Huong Phan), has been selected for the 2022 Student Dissertation Award from the APS Topical Group on Magnetism (GMAG).

  • Professors Ivan Oleynik and Manh-Huong Phan are the recipients of the 2021 Faculty Outstanding Research Achievement Award!

  • Professor Jacob Gayles published a paper in the nature journal communication physics. Here is the link to the press release.

  • Distinguished University Professor Hari Srikanth has accepted to be an Associate Editor for Physical Review B from June 2021 for a three year term.

  • Distinguished University Professor Hari Srikanth has been recognized as a Fellow of the Institute of Physics (IOP).

  • Physics undergraduate, Zachary Withers (Major Professor: Dmitri Voronine), has been awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. He is also the recipient of a Goldwater Scholarship last year.

  • Prof. Hari Srikanth has been named as a Member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials (Elsevier) from January 2021 for a two year term.
  • Former Ph.D. student, Dr. Kaya Wei (Major Professor: Distinguished Professor George S. Nolas) has accepted the position of Research Faculty at the High Magnetic Field Laboratory in Tallahassee, FL, after a two-year appointment as Jack E. Crow Postdoctoral Fellow.
  • Prof. Hariharan Srikanth from physics department has been recognized as a Distinguished University Professor in USF. He is joining an elite group of distinguished professors at USF who have made outstanding scholarly contributions to the university.
  • Ph.D. student, Miss. Maggie Kingsland (Major Professor: Inna Ponomareva), has been awarded the DOD SMART Scholarship. This highly competitive and prestigious award will fully support her through her program and beyond.
  • After serving as an Associate Editor for Journal of Applied Physics for 5 years, Prof. Hari Srikanth has stepped down from JAP and has taken up a new assignment as Editor for Journal of Alloys and Compounds (JALCOM) published by Elsevier.

  • USF Physics former graduate, Dr. Eleanor Clements (co-advisers Profs. Srikanth and Phan), has received a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Director's Fellowship.

  • Prof. Sarath Witanachchi: USF-Botswana Collaborative Research Project to Develop a Portable Energy source for Rural Africa

  • Prof. Lilia Woods & Prof. Ivan Oleynik have been bestowed upon the prestigious honor of AAAS fellow. This is a testament to their exemplary scholarly contributions to their fields.

  • Graduate student Dean Hobbis (Major Professor: George Nolas) has been awarded the 2019 Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Award for his MS thesis. This is the 5th student in Dr. Nolas's group to receive this honor.

  • Prof. Manh-Huong Phan has been awarded the 2019 Faculty Outstanding Research Achievement Award, again. He is one among 12 other researchers at USF to receive this honor. He was awarded the same in 2017.

  • Ms. Olga Harrington Pinto, one of Dr. Maria Womack's Ph.D. students, has been selected as an LSST Data-Science Fellow.