System Consolidation


About the Florida Excellence in Higher Education Act of 2018 and USF System CONSOLIDATION

Governor Rick Scott signed the Florida Excellence in Higher Education Act of 2018, requiring the USF System – composed of University of South Florida Tampa, USF St. Petersburg and USF Sarasota-Manatee – to consolidate accreditations under one umbrella. The USF System now will begin a planning process to implement the law.

The USF System’s highest priority remains the success of our students by providing a world-class education. While a single, unified accreditation will elevate the success of all students and faculty, the law also has accounted for key measures that will uphold the distinctiveness of each campus, its leadership and budget while providing transparent accountability across the entire university and its campuses.

The consolidated accreditation does not go into effect immediately; rather, it will be officially completed on July 1, 2020. During the transition, all campuses will retain their accreditation, and at no time will any USF campus lapse in accreditation.

The USF Consolidation Planning Study and Implementation Task Force was established into law and will make recommendations to the USF Board of Trustees on how to improve service to students by phasing out the separate accreditations of each USF System campus. The Task Force must submit a report to the USF BOT that includes recommendations on the following:

The process is governed by a set of guiding principles that ensure USF maintains its accreditation, strengthens its stature as a Preeminent Research University and preserves the distinctive identities of each of the three campuses.  

Please refer to the FAQ page for a list of common questions about the new law.