Board of Trustees | University of South Florida

One University, Geographically Distributed: Images of Landmarks from each campus, St. Petersburg, Sarasota-Manatee, and Tampa


The USF Board of Trustees is the public body corporate of the university. It sets cost-effective policy for the institution and serves as the legal owner and governing board. The Board of Trustees is responsible for high quality education programs within the laws of the State of Florida and regulations of the Florida Board of Governors. It holds the institution’s resources in trust and is responsible for their efficient and effective use as per Florida Statute 1.001 University Board of Trustees Powers and Duties.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of thirteen members, six whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and five whom are appointed by the Florida Board of Governors and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of five years. The elected Faculty Senate President and Student Government President also serve as trustees.