For Advisors

Outstanding Undergraduate Advising Award

Exemplary academic advising positively impacts the success of undergraduate students. The goal of the Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advising Award (OUAA) program, sponsored by the Office of the Provost, is to recognize and encourage the excellence, innovation and effectiveness of professional academic advisors in their contributions toward undergraduate student success at the University of South Florida (USF).

Up to six (6) winners will be selected as recipients of the Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advising Award, with each winner awarded $2,000.

The Office of Undergraduate Studies will also recognize applicants who meet the standards for Honorable Mention with a certificate of achievement and a token of appreciation. 

The application period for the 2020 - 2021 academic year is CLOSED

Criteria for Application 

OUAA awards are open to undergraduate advising professionals across OneUSF and USF Health. Please review the official guidelines for eligibility requirements and a full listing of all required application materials. 

Here is an example of an candidate packet for an OUAA award. **This is not a required format. ** Please use this as inspiration when creating the narrative, collecting evidence, and organizing your packet. Remember to address all required areas in the guidelines and to provide professional organization of your materials. You can include pictures, charts or other graphics in your supporting documentation. 

Review Process 

All applications for the OUAA awards are reviewed by the Council on Academic Advising’s Assessment sub-committee. 

The Assessment committee uses a scoring rubric to evaluate all candidate packets. The top six candidates with an average committee score of 80 or above are eligible for receipt of the award. Any candidate with an average score of 70 or above will receive Honorable Mention (this includes any with scores over 80 who did not receive the Provost award). 

Notifications of the winners will be sent via email from the Office of the Provost; regrets will be sent by email at the same time. Award recipients are announced at the Faculty Honors and Awards Reception (FHAR) each year. 

2021 Provost Awardees

Honorable Mention 

Adam Clum, College of Public Health



Shane Combs, Undergraduate Studies
Mary Cuthbertson, College of Arts & Sciences
Gina DiMauro, College of Arts & Sciences
Jessica Hoffman, College of Arts & Sciences
Maikelyn Lopez, USF Health
Justine Nandkishorelal, USF Health

Honorable Mention 

Sheila Goethe, Undergraduate Studies
Alina Thompson, College of Arts & Sciences



Rebecca Gubernick, USF Health
Tarin Haydt, College of Arts & Sciences
Teresa Ippolito, College of Arts & Sciences
John Morgan, College of Engineering
Michael Stowe, College of Arts & Sciences

Honorable Mention

Krysta Banke, College of Arts & Sciences


History of Past Recipients 

*Note: prior to 2019-2020, OUAA awards were only distributed on Tampa campus.