UCEM Steering Committee

Faculty champions (current and former Sloan research mentors), UCEM participating departments and colleges serve on the UCEM Steering Committee to provide additional guidance and support for Center recruitment, retention, and professional development activities.

The Coordinating Committee and Program Coordinator meet at least once each semester to:
1) plan activities and nominate candidates for funding
2) review progress of scholars including anecdotal updates and brief student presentations
3) identify issues and challenges that may impact the Center’s goals
4) obtain feedback from student/faculty surveys and the UCEM’s annual program evaluations to recommend areas for program improvement.

College of Engineering

Chemical and Biomedical Engineering    
John Kuhn, Ph.D. 
Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Studies

Computer Science and Engineering  
Yu Sun, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Affairs

Electrical Engineering 
Sanjukta Bhanja, Ph.D.
Professor and Executive Associate Dean 

Sylvia W. Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor and Interim Vice President for Research & Innovation 
President and CEO of the USF Research Foundation, Inc.

Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Sarina Ergas, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Program Director

Qiong Zhang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Vasant Surti Faculty Fellow

James Mihelcic, Ph.D.
Samuel L. and Julia M. Flom Endowed Professor

Industrial and Management Systems Engineering 
Jóse L. Zayas-Castro, Ph.D.

Mechanical Engineering 
Rasim Guldiken, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs

Medical Engineering 
Robert Frisina, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor and Chair

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Chemistry
James W. Leahy, Ph.D.
Professor and Interim Chair

Department of Physics
Sarath Witanachchi, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair

School of Geosciences
Mark Rains, Ph.D.
Professor and Director

Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Lesław A. Skrzypek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair