People

Faculty

Fall 2017 Office Hours 

Marvin Andujar

Marvin Andujar, Assistant Professor
ENB 316
andujar1@usf.edu
Research: Brain-computer interfaces, brain-robot interaction, personal informatics, ubiquitous computing, symbiotic interaction, affective computing

shaun-canavan

Shaun Canavan, Assistant Professor
ENB 315
scanavan@usf.edu
Research: Computer vision; face and sketch recognition; expression analysis; human computer interaction; facial feature detection and tracking

S. Chellappan

Sriram Chellappan, Associate Professor
ENB 317 | 813-974-1379
sriramc@usf.edu
Research: Socio-technical systems, cyber security, smart health, mobile networking, cyber-physical systems, mobile and wireless computings


Ken Christensen

Ken Christensen, Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Affairs
ENB 319 | 813-974-4761
christen@cse.usf.edu
Research: Performance evaluation of computer networks, high-speed packet switch architectures, energy-efficient networks (green networks) 

 

roger fang

Suey-Chun (Roger) Fang, Instructor II
ENB 301A | 813-974-2398
fang1@usf.edu
Research: Data modeling, data warehousing, information systems, deductive databases, visual programming 

 

Alessio Gaspar

Alessio Gaspar, Associate Professor
ENB 343E | 813-974-2932 
alessio@usf.edu 
Research: Evolutionary algorithms; computing education research; computer assisted learning; intelligent tutoring systems 

 

Dmitry Goldgof

Dmitry Goldgof, Professor and Vice Chair
ENB 326 | 813-974-4055
goldgof@mail.usf.edu
Research: Medical Image Analysis, Image and Video Processing, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Ethics and Computing, Bioinformatics and Bioengineering 

 

Lawrence Hall

Lawrence Hall, Distinguished University Professor 
ENB 330 | 813-974-4195
lohall@mail.usf.edu
Research: Intelligent systems, machine learning/data mining, fuzzy logic in intelligent systems, artificial intelligence in visual pattern recognition 

 

William Hendrix

William Hendrix III, Instructor and CS/CpE Program Coordinator
ENB 301C | 813-974-7453
whendrix@usf.edu
Research: Graph algorithms and parallel computing

 

Isabela Hidalgo

Isabela M. Hidalgo, Instructor I
ENB 301B | 813-974-6048
imoura@usf.edu
Research: Human-computer interaction and programming languages

 

Adriana Iamnitchi

Adriana Iamnitchi, Professor
ENB 334 | 813-974-5357
aii@mail.usf.edu
Research: Distributed systems and computational sociology 

 

Henrick Jeanty

Henrick Jeanty, Instructor I 
ENB 318 | 813-974-1982 
hjeanty@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Technical analysis algorithm, Optical Character Recognition

 

Rocky D. Bull

Robert Karam, Assistant Professor
ENB 341
rkaram@usf.edu
Research: Hardware security, reconfigurable computing, bioimplantable devices (algorithms & digital hardware)

Rangachar Katsuri

Rangachar Kasturi, Douglas W. Hood Professor
ENC 3501 | 813-974-3561
R1K@mail.usf.edu
Research: Computer vision and pattern recognition, document image analysis  

 

Katkoori

Srinivas Katkoori, Associate Professor
ENB 258 | 813-974-5737
katkoori@mail.usf.edu
Research: High-level synthesis, low power synthesis, radiation tolerant VLSI design and CAD

 

Valentina Korzhova

Valentina Korzhova, Instructor I
ENB 343G | 813-974-0909
korzhova@cse.usf.edu 
Research: Computer vision, image processing, pattern recognition

 

Miguel Labrador

Miguel Labrador, Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Affairs
ENB 332 | 813-974-3260 
mlabrador@usf.edu
Research: Ubiquitous sensing, computer networks

 

Rocky D. Bull

John Licato, Assistant Professor
ENB 301D
licato@usf.edu
Research: Computational modeling of cognitive reasoning, cognitive science and robotics, automated theorem provers, artificially intelligent reasoners

 

Jay Ligatti

Jay Ligatti, Associate Professor 
ENB 333 | 813-974-0908 
ligatti@cse.usf.edu
Research: Software security, programming languages 

 

Yao Liu

Yao Liu, Assistant Professor 
ENB 336 | 813-974-1079 
yliu21@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Network security, wireless technologies 



mehran mozaffari kermani

Mehran Mozaffari Kermani, Assistant Professor
ENB 338 | 813-974-2671
mehran2@usf.edu
Research: Fault diagnosis and tolerance in cryptography, cryptographic engineering, and computer arithmetic

 

Xinming (Simon) Ou

Xinming (Simon) Ou, Associate Professor 
ENB 339 | 813-974-4522
xou@usf.edu 
Research: Cyber security, cyber physical systems, programming languages, cloud computing, human aspects of computing 

 

Rafael Perez

Rafael Perez, Professor 
ENB 320 | 813-974-3437 
perez@usf.edu
Research: Artificial intelligence, neural networks, genetic algorithms 

 

Les A Piegl

Les A. Piegl, Professor 
ENC 2501 | 813-974-5234 
lespiegl@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Computer-aided design, geometric modeling, computer graphics and analysis, design of geometric algorithms

 

Paul Rosen

Paul A. Rosen, Assistant Professor 
ENB 311 | 813-974-2282 
prosen@usf.edu 
Research: Data visualization, computer graphics, human computer interaction, visual literacy education, computing entrepreneurship 

 

Sudeep Sarkar

Sudeep Sarkar, Professor and Department Chair
ENB 315 | 813-974-2113 
sarkar@cse.usf.edu 
Research: Computer vision and image analysis, automated sign language, recognition biometrics and human identification, perceptual organization for grouping and segmentation, Bayesian methods  

 

schinnel-small

Schinnel Small, Instructor I and IT Coordinator
ENB 343F | 814-974-2126
sksmall@usf.edu
Research: Programming languages, computer architecture, visual analytics

 

Yu Sun

Yu Sun, Associate Professor
ENB 331 | 813-974-7508 
yusun@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Intelligent systems, robotics, cyber physical systems and virtual reality, computer vision, medical image processing 

 

Ralph Tindell

Ralph Tindell, Instructor I 
ENB 343D | 813-974-3032 
rtindell@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Mathematics, computer science

 

Yicheng Tu

Yicheng Tu, Associate Professor 
ENB 340 | 813-974-2114 
tuy@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Database systems, multimedia systems, distributed systems 

 

P. Ventura

Philip Ventura, Instructor II 
ENB 343C | 813-974-0552
pventura@usf.edu
Research: Computer science education, pedagogy of object orientation, objects-first introductory CS curricula

 

Jing Wang

Jing Wang, Instructor II 
ENB 310 | 813-974-6897 
jw@mail.usf.edu 
Research: Computer animation, K-12 outreach, undergraduate computer science and engineering education

 

Alfredo Weitzenfeld

Alfredo Weitzenfeld, Professor
ENB 314 | 813-974-4905 
aweitzenfeld@usf.edu 
Research: Biologically-inspired robotics, cognitive robotics, humanoid robots, multi-robot systems 

 

Yan Zhang

Yan Zhang, Instructor I 
ENB 343A | 813-974-9653
yanzhang16@mail.usf.edu
Research: Congestion control and energy optimization in data center networks, content delivery acceleration over wide area networks, energy efficient networking

 

Hao Zheng

Hao Zheng, Associate Professor 
ENB 312 | 813-974-4757 
haozheng@usf.edu 
Research: System verification and validation, high-performance computing








Emeritus Faculty

Harvey

Harvey Glass, Emeritus Professor
glass@cse.usf.edu
Research: Operating systems; Programming languages; Embedded systems design




A. Kandel

Abraham Kandel, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
kandel@cse.usf.edu
Research: Applied fuzzy logic and computational intelligence; Software testing and productivity; Decision-making in uncertain environments; Data mining



N. Rangaanathan

Nagarajan Ranganathan, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
rangatampa@gmail.com
Research: VLSI system design; VLSI design automation power estimation and optimization; Computer architecture; Heterogenous computing bioinformatics

 

D. Rundus

Dewey Rundus, Emeritus Professor
rundus@cse.usf.edu
Research: Human-computer interaction

 

 

M. Varanasi

Murali Varanasi, Emeritus Professor
varanasi@cse.usf.edu
Research: Coding theory, Computer arithmetic





 

Courtesy Faculty

 

 

Dave Armitage

Dave Armitage, Courtesy Faculty
813- 974-2671
armitage@usf.edu

 

R. Gillies

Robert Gillies, Courtesy Faculty
813-745-8355
rgillies@health.usf.edu 

 

 

matthew peterson

Matthew Peterson, Courtesy Faculty
peterson.matthew.j@gmail.com

 

 

 

P.Sanberg

Paul Sanberg, Courtesy Faculty
813-974-5570
psanberg@health.usf.edu

 

 

John Skvoretz

John Skvoretz, Courtesy Faculty
813-974-7288
jskvoretz@usf.edu