People

Faculty

Summer 2017 Office Hours 

Marvin Andujar

Marvin Andujar, Assistant Professor
Research: Brain-Computer Interfaces, Brain-Robot Interaction, Personal Informatics, Ubiquitous Computing, Symbiotic Interaction, Affective Computing



shaun-canavan

Shaun Canavan, Assistant Professor
Research: Computer vision; face and sketch recognition; expression analysis; human computer interaction; facial feature detection and tracking

 

S. Chellappan

Sriram Chellappan, Associate Professor
ENB 317 | 813-974-1379
sriramc@usf.edu
Research: Socio-technical systems; Cyber security; Smart health; Mobile networking; Cyber-Physical Systems 

 

Ken Christensen

Ken Christensen, Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Affairs
ENB 319 | 813-974-4761
christen@cse.usf.edu
Research: Performance evaluation of computer networks; High-speed packet switch architectures; Energy-efficient networks (green networks) 

 

roger fang

Suey-Chun (Roger) Fang, Instructor II
ENB 301A
fang1@usf.edu
Research: Data modeling; Data warehousing; Information Systems; Deductive databases; Visual programming 

 

Alessio Gaspar

Alessio Gaspar, Associate Professor
ENB 343E | 813-974-2932 
alessio@usf.edu 
Research: Evolutionary algorithms; Computing education research; Computer assisted learning; Intelligent tutoring systems 

 

Dmitry Goldgof

Dmitry Goldgof, Professor and Vice Chair
ENB 326 | 813-974-4055
goldgof@cse.usf.edu
Research: Medical Image Analysis, Image and Video Processing, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Ethics and Computing, Bioinformatics and Bioengineering 

 

Lawrence Hall

Lawrence Hall, Distinguished University Professor 
ENB 330 | 813-974-4195
hall@cse.usf.edu
Research: Intelligent systems; Machine learning/data mining; Fuzzy logic in intelligent systems; Artificial intelligence in visual pattern recognition 

 

William Hendrix

William Hendrix III, Instructor and CS/CpE Program Coordinator
ENB 301C | 813-974-7453
whendrix@usf.edu
Research: Graph Algorithms and Parallel Computing

 

Isabela Hidalgo

Isabela M. Hidalgo, Instructor I
ENB 301B | 813-974-6048
imoura@usf.edu
Research: Human-Computer Interaction and Programming Languages

 

Adriana Iamnitchi

Adriana Iamnitchi, Professor
ENB 334 | 813-974-5357
anda@cse.usf.edu
Research: Distributed systems and computational sociology 

 

Henrick Jeanty

Henrick Jeanty, Instructor I 
ENB 318 | 813-974-1982 
jeanty@cse.usf.edu 
Research: Technical analysis algorithm; Optical Character Recognition

 

Rocky D. Bull

Robert Karam, Assistant Professor
Research: Hardware Security, Reconfigurable Computing, Bioimplantable Devices (Algorithms & Digital Hardware)



 

Rangachar Katsuri

Rangachar Kasturi, Douglas W. Hood Professor
ENC 3501 | 813-974-3561
R1K@cse.usf.edu
Research: Computer vision and pattern recognition; Document image analysis  



S. Katkoori

Srinivas Katkoori, Associate Professor
ENB 258 | 813-974-5737
katkoori@cse.usf.edu
Research: High-level synthesis; Low power synthesis; Radiation tolerant VLSI design and CAD 

 

V. Korzhova

Valentina Korzhova, Instructor I
ENB 343G | 813-974-0909 
korzhova@cse.usf.edu 
Research: Computer vision; Image processing; Pattern recognition

 

M. Labrador

Miguel Labrador, Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Affairs
ENB 332 | 813-974-3260
mlabrador@usf.edu
Research: Ubiquitous sensing; Computer networks

 

Rocky D. Bull

John Licato, Assistant Professor
Research: Computational modeling of cognitive reasoning; cognitive science and robotics; computational cognitive architectures; automated theorem provers; artificially intelligent reasoners; analogical, deductive, and hypothetico-deductive reasoning; artificial reasoning with highly-expressive (e.g. second-order, modal, etc.) logics

J. Ligatti

Jay Ligatti, Associate Professor
ENB 333 | 813-974-0908
ligatti@cse.usf.edu
Research: Software security; Programming languages


Y. Liu

Yao Liu, Assistant Professor
ENB 336 | 813-974-1079
yliu@cse.usf.edu
Research: Network security; Wireless technologies 


mehran mozaffari kermani

Mehran Mozaffari Kermani, Assistant Professor
Research: Fault Diagnosis and Tolerance in Cryptography, Cryptographic Engineering, and Computer Arithmetic

 

S. Ou

Xinming (Simon) Ou, Associate Professor
ENB 339 | 813-974-4522
xou@usf.edu
Research: Cyber security; Cyber physical systems; Programming languages; Cloud computing; Human aspects of computing


R. Perez

Rafael Perez, Professor 
ENB 320 | 813-974-3437
perez@cse.usf.edu
Research: Artificial intelligence; Neural networks; Genetic algorithms



L. Piegl

Les A. Piegl, Professor
ENC 2501 | 813-974-5234
lap@cse.usf.edu
Research: Computer-aided design; Geometric modeling; Computer graphics and analysis; Design of geometric algorithms

 

P. Rosen

Paul A. Rosen, Assistant Professor
ENB 311 | 813-974-2282
prosen@usf.edu
Research: Data visualization; Computer graphics; Human computer interaction; Visual literacy education; Computing entrepreneurship


S. Sarkar

Sudeep Sarkar, Professor and Department Chair
ENB 315 | 813-974-2113
sarkar@cse.usf.edu
Research: Computer vision and image analysis; Automated sign language; Recognition biometrics and human identification; Perceptual organization for grouping and segmentation; Bayesian methods

 
 
schinnel-small
Schinnel Small, Instructor I and IT Coordinator
ENB 343F | 814-974-2126
sksmall@usf.edu
Research: Programming Languages; Computer Architecture; Visual Analytics
  
 
 
  
  

Y. Sun

Yu Sun, Associate Professor
ENB 331 | 813-974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research: Intelligent systems; Robotics; Cyber physical systems and virtual reality; Computer vision; Medical image processing


R. Tindell

Ralph Tindell, Instructor I
ENB 343D | 813-974-3032
rtindell@cse.usf.edu
Research: Mathematics; Computer science



Y. Tu

Yicheng Tu, Associate Professor
ENB 340 | 813-974-2114
ytu@cse.usf.edu
Research: Database systems; Multimedia systems; Distributed systems 



P. Ventura
Philip Ventura, Instructor II 
ENB 343C | 813-974-0552
pventura@usf.edu
Research: Computer Science Education; Pedagogy of Object Orientation; Objects-first introductory CS curricula


 


J. Wang

Jing Wang, Instructor II
ENB 310 | 813-974-6897
jingwang@cse.usf.edu
Research: Computer animation; K-12 outreach; Undergraduate computer science and engineering education



A. Weitzenfeld

Alfredo Weitzenfeld, Professor
ENB 314 | 813-974-4905
aweitzenfeld@usf.edu 
Research: Biologically-inspired robotics; Cognitive robotics; Humanoid robots; Multi-robot systems



Y. Zhang

Yan Zhang, Instructor I
ENB 343A | 813-974-9653
yzhang16@mail.usf.edu
Research: Congestion control and energy optimization in data center networks; Content delivery acceleration over wide area networks; Energy efficient networking



zhen zhang
Zhen Zhang, Visiting Assistant Professor
ENB 341 | 813-974-4184
zhen emailResearch: Modeling and verification of concurrent and stochastic systems

 

 

H. Zheng

Hao Zheng, Associate Professor
ENB 312 | 813-974-4757
zheng@cse.usf.edu
Research: System verification and validation; High-performance computing







Emeritus Faculty

Harvey

Harvey Glass, Emeritus Professor
glass@cse.usf.edu
Research: Operating systems; Programming languages; Embedded systems design




A. Kandel

Abraham Kandel, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
kandel@cse.usf.edu
Research: Applied fuzzy logic and computational intelligence; Software testing and productivity; Decision-making in uncertain environments; Data mining



N. Rangaanathan

Nagarajan Ranganathan, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
rangatampa@gmail.com
Research: VLSI system design; VLSI design automation power estimation and optimization; Computer architecture; Heterogenous computing bioinformatics

 

D. Rundus

Dewey Rundus, Emeritus Professor
rundus@cse.usf.edu
Research: Human-computer interaction

 

 

M. Varanasi

Murali Varanasi, Emeritus Professor
varanasi@cse.usf.edu
Research: Coding theory, Computer arithmetic





 

Courtesy Faculty

 

 

Dave Armitage

Dave Armitage, Courtesy Faculty
813- 974-2671
armitage@usf.edu

 

R. Gillies

Robert Gillies, Courtesy Faculty
813-745-8355
rgillies@health.usf.edu 

 

 

matthew peterson

Matthew Peterson, Courtesy Faculty
peterson.matthew.j@gmail.com

 

 

 

P.Sanberg

Paul Sanberg, Courtesy Faculty
813-974-5570
psanberg@health.usf.edu

 

 

John Skvoretz

John Skvoretz, Courtesy Faculty
813-974-7288
jskvoretz@usf.edu