Mission and Committee Composition

The USF Department of Psychology values and promotes diversity of its members and students; diversity and inclusion are core values within the Department. The mission of the Psychology Diversity Committee is to ensure these values are put into action. Values must be incorporated in all elements of our collective work including research, teaching, training, practice, mentoring, and service. The purpose of the Psychology Diversity Committee is to work collaboratively with all units within the department to advocate, support, and communicate about diversity in our program and the field of psychology.

Committee membership: The USF Psychology Diversity Committee will consist of at least the following individuals:

  • Seven faculty representing all areas and campuses, with at least one faculty member serving as representative to the College of Arts and Sciences Diversity Committee, one as representative to the Departmental Executive Committee, and one to liaise with the Psychology Student Diversity Committee. Faculty can be tenure-track, visiting, or instructor level.
  • At least one psychology graduate student who will serve as a liaison to the Psychology Student Diversity Committee.
  • At least one staff member or adviser.

Committee members serve for two years and may serve multiple terms. The committee is chaired by a tenured or tenure-track faculty member appointed by the Chair of the USF Psychology Department, with the approval of the Executive Committee.

Current Committee Members and affiliations
Chair James McHale
I-O Representative Georgia Chao
CNS representative Kristen Salomon
Clinical Representative Vicky Phares
St. Petersburg campus Representative Kemesha Gabbidon
Sarasota campus Representative David Robertson
Graduate Student Representative Ruba Rum
Staff Representative Urvick St. Jean
At-Large Member S. Leilani Kellogg