University of South Florida

School of Theatre & Dance

College of the Arts

2018 Spring Dance Concert

DanceUSF presents the 2018 Spring Dance Concert.

2018 Spring Dance Concert

Thurs, April 19 – Sat, April 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Sat, April 21 and Sun, April 22 at 3 p.m.
Theatre 1, USF Tampa Campus

The 2018 Spring Dance Concert is an electrifying evening featuring work by DanceUSF faculty members Paula Nuñez and Jeanne Travers, our talented BFA students, and original work by John W. Holloway Endowment guest artists Alex Ketley (The Foundry) and Professor Xiao Xiang-Rong (Beijing Normal University).

Choreographer: Paula Nuñez
Costume Design: Marilyn Gaspardo Bertch

Five dancers in different colored clothes are in mid jump on stage.

Choreographer: Alex Ketley
Rehearsal Director: Bliss Kohlmyer
Costume Design: Terri Funaro
John W. Holloway Endowment in Dance and Theatre Guest Artist

Five dancers on stage, all with different poses. One of them is bending her waist to learn forward, one leg raised. One hand is on her stomach, the other is on her chest, she looks as if she is holding herself. Behind her, there is a male dancer whose hands are making the shape of a rectangle, as if he is taking a picture.

Choreographer: Xiao Xiangrong
Media: Chen Xiao Bin
Costume Design: Lauren Banawa
John W. Holloway Endowment in Dance and Theatre Guest Artist

Seven dancers hold the same pose: their arms spread open side to side, elbows bent at 90 degree, palms open. They all turn their heads to the right side, and they stand with their legs spread apart.
Three dancers stare straight ahead with a piercing stare. They hold the same pose: bent at the waist to lean forward, one arm spread behind them and one arm before them, as if they are swimming. They have also raised one leg behind them.

Artistic Director/Choreographer: Jeanne Travers
Voiceover Director/Coach: Dora Arreola
Dance Movement Therapist and Artistic Collaborator: Lisa Roll
Text Compilation/Dramaturg: Andrea Assaf
Voiceover Actors: Fanni Green, Hemwattie Persaud, Erin Johnson, Talia Fish, Ashlyn De Soto, Andrea Assaf
Costume Design: Marilyn Gaspardo Bertch

Jeanne Travers received a 2017 USF Women in Leadership and Philanthropy Award for her creative research, which funded the creation of Breaking the Wall of Silence: Voices of Resilience. This piece was developed in collaboration with Art2Action Inc., through a series of community workshops.

A group of women dancers stand close to each other on the stage, one of them covers her mouth. Another one stretches out her arm to touch another dancer on the shoulder.

defined dvesha (4/18 at 7:30 p.m. | 4/21 at 7:30 p.m.)

Choreographer: Elisabeth Karrels

Second, Minute, Year (4/19 at 7:30 p.m. | 4/21 at 3 p.m.)

Choreographer: Bethany Clubb

Parakletos (4/20 at 7:30 p.m. | 4/22 at 3 p.m.)

Choreographer: Lindsey Trafford
Concert Lighting Designer: Anthony Vito

John W. Holloway Endowment Guest Artists

Alex Ketley
Alex Ketley is an independent choreographer, filmmaker, and the director of The Foundry. Formally a classical dancer with the San Francisco Ballet, in 1998 he left the company to create The Foundry as a platform to explore his interests in alternative methods of devising performance. The company has allowed Ketley to pursue projects that would be difficult to realize within his commissioning career. A few examples of these are: Syntax, an hour-long duet systemically using the mechanics of language as an organizing mechanism; Lost Line researched how the application of environment affects the generation of movement and studied in direct response to California's diverse physical landscapes; Please Love Me jettisoned the structure of performing in a theater context and was developed with a curiosity about how people connect and experience artwork; and the No Hero Trilogy which was a multi-year project that explored what dance and performance means to the lives of people living throughout the rural United States. For his independent commissioned work he has received acknowledgement from the Hubbard Street National Choreographic Competition, the International Choreographic Competition of the Festival des Arts de Saint-Saveaur, the Choo-San Goh Award, the Princess Grace Award for Choreography, four Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography Residencies, the Gerbode-Hewlett Choreographer Award, the Eben Demarest Award and the Artistry Award from the Superfest International Disability Film Festival. His pieces have also been awarded Isadora Duncan Awards in the categories of: Outstanding Achievement by an Ensemble, Outstanding Achievement in Choreography, and Outstanding Achievement by a Company. For more information visit

Xiao Xiangrong
Professor Xiao Xiangrong is the Chairman of the Dance Department of Beijing Normal University and the Vice Dean of the Art and Communication School. He was the Chief Creator and Choreographer of the opening and closing ceremonies for the 29th Olympic Games and the 29th Paralympic Games. His work “A Hymn of the Long River” won the golden prize of Wen Hua Award and his “Never Apart” won the golden prize from the CCTV Dance Competition.