About Us

News Archive

December 11, 2017 Computer Science and Sociology Researchers Team Up for DARPA Grant

October 24, 2017 Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Grace Hopper 2017

October 12, 2017 John Licato awarded AFOSR Young Investigator's Program Award

October 11, 2017 Lawrence Hall awarded IEEE SMC Joseph G. Wohl Outstanding Career Award

October 3, 2017 Collaborative Paper granted Best Paper Award

October 2, 2017 Student Team awarded Honorable Mention at IEEE Vast Challenge 2017

October 2, 2017 Faculty Receive NSF Grant to Detect Cyberbullying

September 30, 2017 Sudeep Sarkar awarded William R. Jones Outstanding Mentor Award

September 27, 2017 Cell Phone Users to Help Protect Water Supply

September 25, 2017 Jay Ligatti awarded Excellence in Innovation Award

September 20, 2017 Master's thesis by CSE student is in top 25 theses accessed on ProQuest

September 18, 2017 Alfredo Weitzenfeld awarded $494,420 from NSF

September 1, 2017 Sriram Chellappan awarded $28,000 from NSF

August 31, 2017 Yu Sun receives five new patents in the last year

August 28, 2017 Wellness App created by CSE students has a successful pilot

August 22, 2017 CSE welcomes Joshua Pericles, 2017 Tillman Military Scholar

August 15, 2017 Rangachar Kasturi awarded IAPR/ICDAR Outstanding Achievements Award

August 15, 2017 Adriana Iamnitchi and Yao Liu granted Faculty Outstanding Research Achievement Award

August 5, 2017 REU Program Travels to Oviedo, Spain

July 14, 2017 Student Ran Rui awarded Best Paper Runner-Up at SSDBM2017

June 27, 2017 Ashley Suh awarded CREU for research

June 10, 2017 Four CSE students awarded the A. Richard Newton Young Student Fellow Award

June 7, 2017 CSE faculty patent featured in recent USF news article

June 1, 2017 Shanie Lightbourne named as outstanding staff for the College of Engineering

May 25, 2017 Dr. Hao Zheng received $30,000 from Intel for supporting graduate research

May 23, 2017 Scholarships awarded to 8 undergraduate and 2 graduate students

May 11, 2017 Graduate student Ghada Zamzmi featured as IAPR “The Next Generation”

May 5, 2017 Patent granted to two Department faculty and two CSE graduate students 

May 4, 2017 Congratulations to Dave Armitage on his retirement after 15 years of service

April 22, 2017 Graduate student Rekha Govindaraj receives Provost’s Teaching Assistant Award

April 20, 2017 Flit-Path “Cohort B” scholarships granted to twenty pre-CS, CpE, and IT students

April 20, 2017 Flit-Path “Cohort A” scholarships granted to fourteen pre-CS, CpE, and IT students

April 16, 2017 Alumnus Jeremy Ramos receives College Outstanding Young Alumni Award

April 2, 2017 Osniel Quintana earns Goldwater Honorable Mention

March 31, 2017 Dr. Labrador pioneers the first ever NSF-funded overseas summer REU program

March 30, 2017 Department announces updates to MSIT program

March 23, 2017 Yao Liu awarded a Department of Defense DURIP grant

March 18, 2017 Alumnus co-founded company Unifi rakes in $17.5 million in new funding

March 17, 2017 Shamaria Engram awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program award

March 16, 2017 Computer Engineering graduate program ranked 48th in US News & World Report

March 6, 2017 Department faculty receive Florida Center for Cybersecurity Collaborative Seed Awards

March 2, 2017 Department faculty honored at AAAS Fellows Luncheon

February 22, 2017 Professor Labrador collaborates with College of Nursing on improving heart failure care

February 5, 2017 William Hendrix receives USF STEER grant to attend ACM SIGCSE conference

February 1, 2017 Sam Hawkins, graduate student, awarded Editor's Choice

February 1, 2017 Dmitry Goldgof Elected as AIMBE Fellow

December 16, 2016  VuEssense Ince. has joined USF's Tampa Bay Technology Incubator

December 14, 2016  Sudeep Sarkar selected as Fellow in the National Academy of Inventors

December 10, 2016 Department Faculty co-organize the first Florida Security Workshop

December 10, 2016 Sriram Chellappan traveling to Bangladesh and India to give invited talks

December 1, 2016  Professors Goldgof, Sarkar and Sun received DOD/VA funding

November 29, 2016  CSE ranked #1 in University for Faculty Awards

November 21, 2016  Dmitry Goldgof named Fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science

November 21, 2016  Yao Liu's Discovery of Using Radio Waves to Steal WiFi Passwords Featured in the Press

November 14, 2016  Sudeep Sarkar Named Chairperson of CSE 

November 11, 2016  College of Engineering Outstanding Junior Research Achievement Award

October 25, 2016  Department faculty awarded NSF grant

October 3, 2016  Professor Goldgof profiled in IEEE Systems, Man, & Cybernetics magazine

July 7, 2016  Patent granted to two Department faculty and CSE graduate students 

June 27, 2016  Xinming Ou Travels to Portugal to Give an Invited Talk at GraMSec 2016

June 10, 2016  Two Department faculty and CSE alumni receive patent

June 10, 2016  Larry Hall travels to China to give invited talks

June 7, 2016  Department Graduate Students Win Awards at DAC PhD Forum

May 31, 2016  Department Faculty Partner with CBT Holding to Study and Apply VTE

April 22, 2016  Paul Rosen and international collaborators receive Best Paper Award at IEEE Pacific Visualization Symposium 

April 6, 2016  Shamaria Engram awarded a National GEM Consortium PhD Fellowship

March 31, 2016  USF Robobulls qualify for RoboCup World Championship

March 25, 2016  USF students are finalists in Embedded Security Challenge at CSAW Conference 2015 

March 11, 2016  Paul Rosen receives awards at International Conference on Information Visualization Theory and Applications Awards

February 29, 2016  Yu Sun receives NSF grant

February 24, 2016  Swaroop Ghosh receives ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award

February 16, 2016  Assistant Professor Yao Liu awarded NSF CAREER award

January 19, 2016  Sudeep Sarkar elected as AIMBE Fellow

December 16, 2015  NSF Grant Awarded to Multi-Department Faculty

December 9, 2015  Paul Rosen awarded ALMA Development Project grant from the National Radio Astronomy Observatory

December 7, 2015  Swaroop Ghosh invited to serve on Senior Editorial Board of IEEE Journal on Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems (JETCAS)

November 17, 2015 Swaroop Ghosh receives College of Engineering Outstanding Research Achievement Award

November 8, 2015  Swaroop Ghosh receives 2015 DARPA Young Faculty Award Recipient

November 4, 2015  Swaroop Ghosh receives USF Outstanding Research Achievement Award

November 4, 2015  Jay Ligatti receives Test of Time Award

October 28, 2015  Sudeep Sarkar on team creating new form of computing using circular nanomagnets

October 26, 2015  Sudeep Sarkar co-author of Nature paper

September 11, 2015  Two Department Faculty Receive NSF Grant

September 8, 2015  Associate Professor Anda Iamnitchi awarded NSF grant

August 28, 2015  Paul Rosen receives NSF grant

June 25, 2015  CSE professors awarded NSF Grant

June 3, 2015  Rangachar Kasturi receives 2015 Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Award