People

Faculty

Fall 2018 Office Hours

Marvin Andujar

Marvin Andujar, Assistant Professor
ENB 316 | 813-974-8421 | andujar1@usf.edu

Research: Brain-computer interfaces; brain-robot interaction; personal informatics; ubiquitous computing; symbiotic interaction; affective computing

 

Shaun Canavan

Shaun Canavan, Assistant Professor
ENB 315 | 813-974-3137 | scanavan@usf.edu

Research: Computer vision; face and sketch recognition; expression analysis; human computer interaction; facial feature detection and tracking

  

Sriram Chellappan

Sriram Chellappan, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator for Cybersecurity
ENB 317 | 813-974-1379 | sriramc@usf.edu

Research: Socio-technical systems; cybersecurity; smart health; mobile networking; cyber-physical systems; mobile and wireless computings

 

Ken Christensen

Ken Christensen, Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Affairs
ENB 319 | 813-974-4761 | christen@cse.usf.edu

Research: Performance evaluation of computer networks; high-speed packet switch architectures; energy-efficient networks (green networks)

  

Giovanni
Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia, Assistant Professor
ENB 343K | 813-976-9349 | glc3@usf.edu

Research: Computational social science; network science; data science

 

 

Roger Rang

Suey-Chun (Roger) Fang, Instructor II
ENG 016 | 813-974-2398 | fang1@usf.edu

Research: Data modeling; data warehousing; information systems; deductive databases; visual programming 

 

Alessio Gaspar

Alessio Gaspar, Associate Professor
ENB 343E | 813-974-2932 | alessio@usf.edu

Research: Evolutionary algorithms; computing education research; computer assisted learning; intelligent tutoring systems 

  

Dmitry Goldgof

Dmitry B. Goldgof, Professor and Vice Chair
ENB 326 | 813-974-4055 | goldgof@mail.usf.edu

Research: Medical image analysis; image and video processing; computer vision and pattern recognition; ethics and computing; bioinformatics and bioengineering

 

Lawrence Hall

Lawrence Hall, Distinguished University Professor 
ENB 330 | 813-974-4195 | lohall@mail.usf.edu

Research: Intelligent systems; machine learning/data mining; fuzzy logic in intelligent systems; artificial intelligence in visual pattern recognition 

  

William Hendrix

William Hendrix III, Instructor I and Undergraduate Program Coordinator for Computer Science and Computer Engineering
ENB 301C | 813-974-7453 | whendrix@usf.edu

Research: Graph algorithms; parallel computing

 

Isabela Hidalgo

Isabela M. Hidalgo, Instructor I
ENB 301B | 813-974-6048 | imoura@usf.edu

Research: Human-computer interaction; programming languages

 

Adriana Iamnitchi

Adriana Iamnitchi, Professor
ENB 334 | 813-974-5357 | aii@mail.usf.edu

Research: Distributed systems; computational sociology 

 

Henrick Jeanty

Henrick Jeanty, Instructor I 
ENB 318 | 813-974-1982 | hjeanty@mail.usf.edu

Research: Technical analysis algorithm; optical character recognition

 

Robert Karam

Robert Karam, Assistant Professor
ENB 341 | 813-974-4184 | rkaram@usf.edu

Research: Hardware security; reconfigurable computing; bioimplantable devices (algorithms & digital hardware)

Rangachar Katsuri

Rangachar Kasturi, Douglas W. Hood Professor
ENC 3501 | 813-974-3561 | R1K@mail.usf.edu

Research: Computer vision; pattern recognition; document image analysis  

 

Srinivas Katkoori

Srinivas Katkoori, Associate Professor
ENB 258 | 813-974-5737 | katkoori@mail.usf.edu

Research: High-level synthesis; low power synthesis; radiation tolerant VLSI design and CAD

 

Valentina Korzhova

Valentina Korzhova, Instructor I
ENB 343G | 813-974-0909 | korzhova@cse.usf.edu 

Research: Computer vision; image processing; pattern recognition

 

Miguel Labrador

Miguel A. Labrador, Professor 
ENB 332 | 813-974-3260 | mlabrador@usf.edu

Research: Ubiquitous sensing; computer networks

 

Lewis

Jason Lewis, Instructor I 
ENB 343D | 813-974-3032 | jasonlewis@usf.edu

Research: Cybersecurity; digital forensics; computer science/cybersecurity education

 

 

John Licato

John Licato, Assistant Professor
ENB 301D | 813-974-6212 | licato@usf.edu

Research: Computational modeling of cognitive reasoning; cognitive science and robotics; automated theorem provers; artificially intelligent reasoners

 

Jay Ligatti

Jay Ligatti, Professor
ENB 333 | 813-974-0908 | ligatti@usf.edu

Research: Runtime Security Mechanisms; Authentication; Policy Composition; Injection Attacks; Enforceability Theory; Type Systems; Subtyping; Policy-Specification Languages

 

Yao Liu

Yao Liu, Associate Professor 
ENB 336 | 813-974-1079 | yliu21@mail.usf.edu

Research: Network security; wireless technologies  

 

Mehran Mozaffari Kermani

Mehran Mozaffari Kermani, Assistant Professor
ENB 338 | 813-974-2671 | mehran2@usf.edu

Research: Fault diagnosis and tolerance in cryptography; cryptographic engineering; computer arithmetic

 

Neal

Tempestt Neal, Assistant Professor
ENB 310 | 813-485-4384 | tjneal@usf.edu

Research: Scalable biometrics; mobile biometrics; computer vision; authorship attribution; human-centered authentication; soft biometric classification; emotion recognition

 

Oropallo

William Oropallo, Instructor I
ENB 343C | 813-974-2467 | woropall@usf.edu

Research: NURBS; point clouds; geometric algorithms

 

 

Xinming (Simon) Ou

Xinming (Simon) Ou, Professor 
ENB 339 | 813-974-4522 | xou@usf.edu

Research: Cyber security; cyber physical systems; programming languages; cloud computing; human aspects of computing 

 

Rafael Perez

Rafael Perez, Professor 
ENB 320 | 813-974-3437 | perez@usf.edu

Research: Artificial intelligence; neural networks; genetic algorithms 

 

Les A Piegl

Les A. Piegl, Professor 
ENC 2501 | 813-974-5234 | lespiegl@mail.usf.edu 

Research: Computer-aided design; geometric modeling; computer graphics and analysis; design of geometric algorithms 

 

Paul Rosen

Paul A. Rosen, Assistant Professor 
ENB 311 | 813-974-2282 | prosen@usf.edu 

Research: Data visualization; computer graphics; human computer interaction; visual literacy education; computing entrepreneurship 

 

Sudeep Sarkar

Sudeep Sarkar, Professor and Department Chair
ENB 345 | 813-974-2113 | sarkar@usf.edu 

Research: Computer vision and image analysis; automated sign language; recognition biometrics and human identification; perceptual organization for grouping and segmentation; Bayesian methods  

 

Schinnel Small

Schinnel Small, Instructor I and Undergraduate Program Coordinator for Information Technology
ENB 343F | 813-974-2126 | sksmall@usf.edu

Research: Programming languages; computer architecture; visual analytics

 

Yu Sun

Yu Sun, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
ENB 331 | 813-974-7508 | yusun@mail.usf.edu 

Research: Intelligent systems; robotics; cyber physical systems and virtual reality; computer vision; medical image processing; deep learning

 

Yicheng Tu

Yicheng Tu, Associate Professor 
ENB 340 | 813-974-2114 | Tuy@mail.usf.edu 

Research: Database systems; multimedia systems; distributed systems 

 

Philip Ventura

Philip Ventura, Instructor II 
ENG 211 | 813-974-0552 | pventura@usf.edu

Research: Computer science education; pedagogy of object orientation; objects-first introductory CS curricula

 

Jing Wang

Jing Wang, Instructor II 
ENB 343B | 813-974-6897 | jw@mail.usf.edu 

Research: Computer animation; K-12 outreach; undergraduate computer science and engineering education

 

Alfredo Weitzenfeld

Alfredo Weitzenfeld, Professor
ENB 314 | 813-974-4905 | aweitzenfeld@usf.edu 

Research: Biologically-inspired robotics; cognitive robotics; humanoid robots; multi-robot systems 

 

Yavuz

Attila A. Yavuz, Assistant Professor
ENG 117 | 813-974-0419 | attilaayavuz@usf.edu

Research: Applied cryptography; privacy enhancing technologies; light-weight cryptography; cyber-security for critical cyber-infrastructures (e.g., internet of things and cloud systems); network security

 

Yan Zhang

Yan Zhang, Instructor I 
ENB 343A | 813-974-9653 | yzhang16@mail.usf.edu

Research: Congestion control and energy optimization in data center networks; content delivery acceleration over wide area networks; energy efficient networking

 

Hao Zheng

Hao Zheng, Associate Professor 
ENB 312 | 813-974-4757 | haozheng@usf.edu 

Research: Hardware/Software testing and verification; embedded systems; computer architecture; VLSI design; electronic design automation

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

photo

William Gauvin
wgauvin@usf.edu

 

 

 

photo

Federico Giovannetti 
fgiovannetti@mail.usf.edu

 

 

 

photo

William Harding 
wharding@usf.edu

 

 

photo

Carol Hoeke
hoeke@usf.edu

 

 

 

photo

Scot Hollingsworth
scoth12@comcast.net

 

 

photo

Daniel Fernandez Lanvin 
dflanvin@uniovi.es

 

 

photo

Richard Rauscher
rrauscher@mail.usf.edu

 

 

photo

Jeremy Rasmussen 
jeremy.rasmussen@gmail.com

 

 

 

 


Emeritus Faculty

Harvey Glass

Harvey Glass, Emeritus Professor
glass@cse.usf.edu
Research: Operating systems; programming languages; embedded systems design

 

 

Abraham Kandel

Abraham Kandel, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
kandel@cse.usf.edu
Research: Applied fuzzy logic and computational intelligence; software testing and productivity; decision-making in uncertain environments; data mining 

 

Nagarajan Rangaanathan

Nagarajan Ranganathan, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
rangatampa@gmail.com
Research: VLSI system design; VLSI design automation power estimation and optimization; computer architecture; heterogeneous computing bioinformatics

 

Dewey Rundus

Dewey Rundus, Emeritus Professor
rundus@cse.usf.edu
Research: Human-computer interaction

 

 

Murali Varanasi

Murali Varanasi, Emeritus Professor
varanasi@cse.usf.edu 
Research: Coding theory; computer arithmetic

 

 

  

Courtesy Faculty

Dave Armitage

Dave Armitage, Courtesy Faculty
armitage@usf.edu

 

 

Robert Gillies

Robert Gillies, Courtesy Faculty
rgillies@health.usf.edu

 

 

Matthew Peterson

Matthew Peterson, Courtesy Faculty
peterson.matthew.j@gmail.com

 

 

Paul Sanberg

Paul Sanberg, Courtesy Faculty
psanberg@health.usf.edu

 

 

John Skvoretz

John Skvoretz, Courtesy Faculty
jskvoretz@usf.edu