Research Areas Overview

CSE faculty members have won many national and international acclaims for their research and leadership. Major funding sources include the National Science Foundation (NSF), National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Army, Office of Naval Research, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Advanced Research and Development Activity (now IARPA), and The Whitaker Foundation. Research areas are listed below in alphabetical order.

Affective Computing

Faculty: Marvin Andujar and Shaun Canavan

Artificial Intelligence and Intelligent Systems

Faculty: Alessio Gaspar, Lawrence Hall, Adriana Iamnitchi, John Licato, Rafael Perez, and Yu Sun

Brain-Computer Interfaces (BCI)

Faculty: Marvin Andujar

Computer and Network Security

Faculty: Sriram Chellappan, Robert Karam, Mehran Kermani, Jay Ligatti, Yao Liu, and Xinming (Simon) Ou

Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition

Faculty: Shaun Canavan, Dmitry Goldgof, Lawrence Hall, Rangachar Kasturi, Tempestt Neal, and Sudeep Sarkar

Computing Education Research

Faculty: Alessio Gaspar


Faculty: Yicheng Tu

Distributed Systems

Faculty: Adriana Iamnitchi

Graphics and Visualization

Faculty: Les Piegl and Paul Rosen


Faculty: Ken Christensen and Miguel Labrador

Programming Languages

Faculty: Jay Ligatti


Faculty: Marvin Andujar, Yu Sun, and Alfredo Weitzenfeld

Social and Human-Centric Computing

Faculty: Marvin Andujar, Sriram Chellappan, Adriana Iamnitchi, Miguel Labrador, Xinming (Simon) Ou, and Paul Rosen

Ubiquitous Sensing

Faculty: Marvin Andujar and Miguel Labrador

VLSI, Computer Architecture, and Parallel Processing

Faculty: Robert Karam, Srinivas Katkoori, Mehran Mozaffari Kermani, and Hao Zheng


The Department faculty are also affiliated with other departments and units at USF including:

CUTR: Center for Urban Transportation Research

Faculty: Srinivas Katkoori and Miguel Labrador