People

Faculty

Name Title Research Areas Office Email & Phone

Bartesaghi, Mariaelena

Associate Professor

Authority, Institutionalization, Communication Theory CIS 3037 mbartesaghi@usf.edu

Basu, Ambar

Professor  Health Communication, Culture, Postcolonial & Subaltern Studies CIS 3032

abasu@usf.edu 
813-974-6828

Bell, Elizabeth

Professor

  CPR 107  
Berry, Keith

Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

Relational Communication, Culture, Identity, Bullying, LGBTQ, Autoethnography, Reflexivity CIS 3046 

keithberry@usf.edu

Buzzanell, Patrice

Department Chair
Professor

Organizational Communication, career, work-life policy, resilience, gender, and design CIS 3054

pmbuzzanell@usf.edu

Dean Kruzel, Marleah Associate Professor Health communication, Interpersonal communication, and Applied communication CIS 3043

marleahdeank@usf.edu

Dubrofsky, Rachel E.

Associate Professor and Affiliated Associate Professor, Departments of Humanities & Cultural Studies and Women's & Gender Studies Critical/Cultural Studies, media

studies, gender, race, digital media, reality TV, surveillance

CIS 3040

rdubrofsky@usf.edu

Durham, Aisha

Associate Professor and Affiliated Associate Professor Departments of Humanities & Cultural Studies, Women's & Gender Studies, and Africana Studies Cultural Studies, Feminist Media Studies, Black feminist thought, Performance auto/ethnography CIS 3050 aishadurham@usf.edu
Eisenberg, Eric

Professor
Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
  CPR 107  
Friedman, Laurel Instructor Critical Health Communication, Qualitative Methods,
Visual Culture
CIS 3038

laurelf@usf.edu

Huber, Aubrey

Assistant Professor
Director of Public Speaking
Pedagogy, performance, and intercultural communication CIS 3031

aubreyahuber@usf.edu 
813-974-6098

Ivancic, Sonia R. Assistant Professor Organizational Communication, Health Communication, discourses about the body, identity, and work CIS 3047 sivancic@usf.edu
James, Navita Cummings

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Media studies, Gender and

Culture, Narrative

CIS 3039

njames2@usf.edu

Jorgenson, Jane Professor Organizational Communication, Work-family Relationships, Gender and Work CIS 3045

jjorgens@usf.edu

Leon-Boys, Diana Assistant Professor Critical/Cultural Studies, Feminist Media Studies, Latina/o/x Studies, Digital Media, Audience Studies, Disney  

dleonboys@usf.edu

McElearney, Patrick Instructor Performance Studies, Narrative Studies, Critical Culture, Health Communication,(Auto)Ethnography   mcelearney@usf.edu
McRae, Chris Associate Professor Performance Studies, cultural studies, critical communication pedagogy CIS 3028 cjmcrae@usf.edu
Pal, Mahuya Associate Professor Organizational Communication, Globalization, postcolonial studies CIS 3036 mpal@usf.edu
Roscoe, Lori A. Professor Health Communication,
End of Life, Ethics, Aging
CIS 3030 lroscoe@usf.edu
Scacco, Joshua Associate Professor  Political Communication, media content and effects, and quantitative research methods CIS 3041 jscacco@usf.edu
Whitworth, Collin Visiting Instructor   CIS 3021

whitworth1@usf.edu

Wilson, Steven Professor Interpersonal and Family Communication, Processes of influence and identity management in family, health, and workplace contexts CIS 3048

wilson52@usf.edu

Spinazola, Lisa Pia Zonni Visiting Instructor   CIS 3049

lspinazola@usf.edu

Retired Faculty

Name Title Research Areas Office Email
Bochner, Arthur Distinguished Professor Emeritus Autoethnography, Narrative inquiry, Interpretive research, Close relationships CIS 3033 abochner@usf.edu
Cissna, Kenneth Professor Emeritus Applied Communication, Dialogue, Interpersonal Communication  

kcissna@usf.edu

Ellis, Carolyn Distinguished  Professor Emerita Qualitative Methods, Emotions, Autoethnography, Holocaust Studies CIS 3033

cellis@usf.edu

Payne, A. David Retired Faculty Rhetorical Theory and Criticism   dpayne@usf.edu
Pettegrew, Loyd Professor Emeritus Health Communication, Organizational Communication, Marketing Communication  

lpettegrew@usf.edu

Steier, Frederick Associate Professor Design Thinking, Systems Thinking and Practice, The World Café CIS 3044

fsteier@usf.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Department Email
Janelle Applequist Assistant Professor Mass Communications

applequist@usf.edu 

Deborah Cragun Assistant Professor
Director of Genetic Counseling
College of Public Health dcragun@usf.edu
Sara A. Green

Professor
Director of ISS

Sociology  sagreen@usf.edu
Nathan Johnson Assistant Professor English nathanjohnson@usf.edu
Nancy Y. Romero-Daza Professor Anthropology daza@usf.edu
David A. Rubin Associate Professor Women's and Gender Studies davidarubin@usf.edu
W. Travis Thompson Senior Director of Academic Tracking and Advising Undergraduate Studies tthompson@usf.edu
Phillip Wagner Regional Assistant Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Communications pewagner@sar.usf.edu