People

Faculty

Name Title Research Areas Office Email & Phone

Bartesaghi, Mariaelena

Associate Professor

Authority, Institutionalization, Communication Theory CIS 3037 mbartesaghi@usf.edu

Basu, Ambar

Professor and Department Chair 

Health Communication, Culture, Postcolonial & Subaltern Studies CIS 3032

abasu@usf.edu 
813-974-6828

Bell, Elizabeth

Professor

  CPR 107  
Berry, Keith

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Relational Communication, Culture, Identity, Bullying, LGBTQ, Autoethnography, Reflexivity CIS 3046 

keithberry@usf.edu

Buzzanell, Patrice

Professor

Organizational Communication, Career, Work-life Policy, Resilience, Gender, and Design CIS 3054

pmbuzzanell@usf.edu

Dean Kruzel, Marleah Associate Professor Health Communication, Patient-Clinician Interaction, Cancer Communication, Health Decision Making, Inherited Cancer Risk CIS 3043

marleahdeank@usf.edu

Dubrofsky, Rachel E.

Professor and Affiliated Associate Professor, Departments of Humanities & Cultural Studies and Women's & Gender Studies Critical/Cultural Studies, Media

Studies, Gender, Race, Digital Media, Reality TV, Surveillance

CIS 3040

rdubrofsky@usf.edu

Durham, Aisha

Professor and Affiliated Associate Professor Departments of Humanities & Cultural Studies and Women's & Gender Studies Cultural Studies, Feminist Media Studies, Black Feminist Thought, Autoethnography CIS 3050 aishadurham@usf.edu
Eisenberg, Eric

Professor and Interim Provost

  CPR 107  
Friedman, Laurel Associate Professor of Instruction Critical Health Communication, Qualitative Methods,
Visual Culture
CIS 3038

laurelf@usf.edu

Huber, Aubrey

Associate Professor of Instruction and
Director of Public Speaking
Pedagogy, Performance, and Intercultural Communication CIS 3031

aubreyahuber@usf.edu 
813-974-6098

Hughes-Krichubel, Linda Andjunct Professor      
Ivancic, Sonia R. Assistant Professor Organizational Communication, Health Communication, Discourses About the Body, Identity, and Work CIS 3047 sivancic@usf.edu
James, Navita Cummings

Associate Professor and
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Media Studies, Gender and

Culture, Narrative

CIS 3039

njames2@usf.edu

Jorgenson, Jane Professor Organizational Communication, Work-family Relationships, Gender and Work CIS 3045

jjorgens@usf.edu

Leon-Boys, Diana Assistant Professor Critical/Cultural Studies, Feminist Media Studies, Latina/o/x Studies, Digital Media, Audience Studies, Political Economy, Global Disney  

dleonboys@usf.edu

McElearney, Patrick Assistant Professor of Instruction Health Communication, Performance Studies, Narrative Studies, Critical Culture, Critical Pedagogy, and (Auto)Ethnography   mcelearney@usf.edu
McRae, Chris Associate Professor Performance Studies and Critical Communication Pedagogy CIS 3028 cjmcrae@usf.edu
Pal, Mahuya Associate Professor Organizational Communication, Globalization, Postcolonial Studies CIS 3036 mpal@usf.edu
Scacco, Joshua Associate Professor  Political Communication, Media Content and Effects, and Quantitative Research Methods CIS 3041 jscacco@usf.edu
Wilson, Steven Professor Interpersonal Communication, Difficult Conversations, Military and Veteran Families, Conflict and Negotiation, Resilience CIS 3048

wilson52@usf.edu

Retired Faculty

Name Title Research Areas Office Email
Bochner, Arthur Distinguished Professor Emeritus Autoethnography, Narrative Inquiry, Interpretive Research, Close Relationships CIS 3033 abochner@usf.edu
Cissna, Kenneth Professor Emeritus Applied Communication, Dialogue, Interpersonal Communication  

kcissna@usf.edu

Ellis, Carolyn Distinguished  Professor Emerita Qualitative Methods, Emotions, Autoethnography, Holocaust Studies CIS 3033

cellis@usf.edu

Payne, A. David Retired Faculty Rhetorical Theory and Criticism   dpayne@usf.edu
Pettegrew, Loyd Professor Emeritus Health Communication, Organizational Communication, Marketing Communication  

lpettegrew@usf.edu

Roscoe, Lori A.

Distinguished Professor
Emerita

Health Communication,
End of Life, Ethics, Aging
CIS 3030 lroscoe@usf.edu
Steier, Frederick Associate Professor Emeritus Design Thinking, Systems Thinking and Practice, The World Café CIS 3044

fsteier@usf.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Department Email
Janelle Applequist Associate Professor Mass Communications

applequist@usf.edu 

Deborah Cragun Assistant Professor and
Director of Genetic Counseling
College of Public Health dcragun@usf.edu
Sara A. Green

Professor and
Department Chair

Sociology  sagreen@usf.edu
Nathan Johnson Associate Professor English nathanjohnson@usf.edu
Nancy Y. Romero-Daza Professor Anthropology daza@usf.edu
David A. Rubin Associate Professor Women's and Gender Studies davidarubin@usf.edu
W. Travis Thompson Organizational Design and Development Undergraduate Studies tthompson@usf.edu
Phillip Wagner Regional Assistant Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Communications pewagner@sar.usf.edu