Funding Search

Funding Search Tools

USF COVID-19 Rapid Response Internal Grants Program - Round 3: call for letters of intent

 

pprn

Submission Deadline:  July 8, 2020 

Program Goals and Description

The USF COVID-19 Rapid Response Grant Program, administered through USF Research & Innovation, is offering a third round of proposal submissions for funding consideration. The first two rounds of this grant program resulted in a total of 244 proposals with 28 grants funded. These submissions spanned a wide range of topics that, although not all funded, provide excellent opportunities for external funding. Thus, this third round of proposal submission aims to build on the many excellent proposals submitted to the first two calls and welcome novel bold ideas; with this in mind this third call will very much encourage networking within and across hubs to generate truly transdisciplinary projects.

Round Three proposals will focus on pilot studies related to COVID-19, targeting specific governmental, industry and/or foundation funding. These pilot studies must be broadly based, multidisciplinary research programs that involve diverse faculty from across colleges and campuses with differing disciplinary expertise and that also engage with industrial or and/community partners.

This third round offers tenured/tenure-track and full-time research faculty members, who did not receive funding in the first two rounds of Rapid Response Research Grants, the opportunity to apply for these funds.  Projects must be initiated and completed within 12 months and lead to the submission of proposals for external funding. In addition, these proposals should:

  • Pertain to the longer-term potential consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic
  • Integrate a range of disciplines (across departments, colleges, campuses) and include an industrial or community partner
  • Serve as a pilot for specific external grants
  • Demonstrate the integration of faculty with similar research interests within and across key COVID-19 Pandemic Response Research Network™ research hubs listed below (for additional information on these research hubs, see https://pandemic-response-research.net/researchhubs/). Additionally, hub coordinators may identify PIs with similar projects to collaborate and work together on larger, broader proposals.

USF Research Hubs

  • Basic Research Toward Therapeutics, Diagnostics, and Vaccines
  • Behavioral, Socio-emotional, and Educational Wellbeing
  • Clinical and Translational Research
  • Environmental Health and Resiliency
  • Information, Computing and Communication Technology
  • Manufacturing, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
  • Microbiome, Immunology, and Infection Mitigation
  • Surveillance and Epidemiology 

The following will not be considered for funding under this Call for Letters of Intent:

  • Research projects conducted outside of the United States
  • Legacy funding
  • Sole investigator research projects; PI must have at least one Co-PI or Co-I
  • Maintenance contracts 

Submissions:

  • For Faculty Members Who Were Not Awarded Funding in Rounds One or Two
  • For Faculty Members Who Did Not Submit Proposals in Rounds One or Two
  • Letters of Intent are welcomed from faculty members who did not submit proposals in the first two rounds.

 Budget Details

The 12-month budget cap for this third round of awards is $25,000. Inclusion of matching funds (e.g., RIA funds, department funds, or in-kind contributions) is strongly encouraged and will be considered in the evaluation of proposals. There are no indirect costs on this grant.

Submission and Evaluation of Letters of Intent

Full-time tenured/tenure-track and research faculty members at USF wishing to submit proposals for USF COVID-19 Rapid Response Research Grants Round Three funding must first submit a Letter of Intent.  Principal Investigators must submit their Letter of Intent via email to the appropriate hub coordinator(s) by Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 5:00pm (Eastern Daylight Time).  

Co-PI and Co-I Eligibility

Although instructors, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students are not eligible to apply as a PI, they are encouraged to serve as Co-PI or Co-I on Letters of Intent.  A Letter of Intent may include a Co-PI or Co-I from another university or institution within the U.S.  However, projects should remain focused on domestic collaborations rather than international for Round Three rapid research funding.  Because projects must be completed within 12 months, the logistics required to establish international agreements would be time-prohibitive.  Researchers can leverage the effect of this internal seed grant funding to seek larger federal and other domestic grants, as well as international grants on the same topic using the preliminary data generated.

Other

Accelerated submission deadline to address current pandemic.
Only one Letter of Intent per PI will be accepted. Submit as PDF only.
If you received a COVID-19 award as a PI in either Round 1 or Round 2, you are not eligible to reapply as a PI for a Round 3 award.

IRB approval is required for human subject research; questions related to IRB requirements should be addressed to USF IRB at (813) 974-5638 or email RSCH-IRB@usf.edu. 

Requirements of Letters of Intent

  • 1-page, single-spaced and must include the following:
  • PI/CoPI Information:  Include names and campus, college, & department affiliations of the research team members
  • COVID-19 Hub Alignment:  Identify the primary COVID-19 Hub to which your project aligns and the name(s) of Hub Coordinator(s) contacted
  • Abstract:  Provide a detailed abstract describing your proposal
  • Budget:  Provide a brief description of broad budget categories including total amount
  • Targeted External Funding:  Indicate specific external grant targeted for this pilot project

Upon review of the Letters of Intent, selected Principal Investigators will be invited by July 15, 2020 to submit full proposals.  The deadline for full proposal submission is July 29, 2020 at 5:00pm.  It is anticipated that award announcements will be made no later than August 5, 2020. 

Research Hub Coordinators

Basic Research Toward Therapeutics, Diagnostics, and Vaccines
Robert Deschenes: rdeschen@usf.edu
James Leahy: jwleahy@usf.edu
Sarah Yuan: syuan@usf.edu

Behavioral, Socio-emotional, and Educational Wellbeing
Kathy Bradley-Klug: kbradley@usf.edu
Ellen Daley: edaley@usf.edu
Howard Goldstein: hgoldstein@usf.edu 

Clinical and Translational Research
Kami Kim: kamikim@usf.edu
Usha Menon: umenon@usf.edu
Shyam Mohapatra: smohapat@usf.edu 

Environmental Health and Resiliency
Sandy Justice: sjustice@usf.edu
Steven Murawski: smurawski@usf.edu 

Information, Computing and Communication Technology
Matthew Mullarkey: mmullarkey@usf.edu
Sudeep Sarkar: sarkar@usf.edu
Shivendu Shivendu: shivendu@usf.edu 

Manufacturing, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
Yogi Goswami: goswami@usf.edu
David Conrad: dconrad1@usf.edu
Michael Bloom: mbloom@usf.edu 

Microbiome, Immunology, and Infection Mitigation
Christian Brechot: cbrechot@usf.edu
Wayne Guida: wguida@usf.edu 
Shyam Mohapatra: smohapat@usf.edu 

Surveillance and Epidemiology
Ghanim Ullah: gullah@usf.edu
Xiaoming Liu: xiaomingliu@usf.edu
Ellen Daley: edaley@usf.edu

We are pleased to announce this Round 3 of the Rapid Response Grant Program.  This round requires Principal Investigators to submit their Letter of Intent via email to the appropriate hub coordinator(s) by Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 5:00pm (Eastern Daylight Time).  Upon review of the Letters of Intent, selected Principal Investigators will be invited by July 15, 2020 to submit full proposals.  The deadline for full proposal submission is July 29, 2020 at 5:00pm.  It is anticipated that award announcements will be made no later than August 5, 2020.

For questions contact RSCH-RapidResponse@usf.edu.

COVID-19 EXTERNAL RESEARCH FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES

See external research funding opportunities: https://www.usf.edu/research-innovation/sr/covid-19-funding/index.aspx

 other funding

With the goal of helping researchers identify funding opportunities that align with their area of research, this section offers a list of searchable funding databases that include All Searchable DatabasesFederal Grant Opportunities, Federal Funding Deadlines, Federal Agency Divisions & InstitutesGraduate Funding Opportunities, Undergraduate Funding OpportunitiesUSF Internal Award Opportunities, and Limited Submissions.

In addition to the funding search tools provided here, there are research networking sites that help researchers raise the profile of their research activity and connect with other scientists and scholars, which include Florida ExpertNet (a portal across Florida's universities with search filters by subject and institution) and Research Gate (a free searchable site that allows researchers to make their research visible).