Prasant Mohapatra

Prasant Mohapatra

Professor, Provost, and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

ENB 320

Email | CV Homepage | Google Scholar | LinkedIn


Dr. Prasant Mohapatra is the Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs for the University of South Florida.

Before joining USF in 2023, Dr. Mohapatra was the Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of California, Davis. He was also a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science. He served as the Dean and Vice-Provost of Graduate Studies at the University of California, Davis, from 2016 to 2018. He served as an Associate Chancellor from 2014 to 2016 and the Interim Vice-Provost and CIO of UC Davis from 2013 to 2014. He was the Department Chair of Computer Science from 2007 to 2013 and held the Tim Bucher Family Endowed Chair Professorship during that period.

Dr. Mohapatra has been on the faculty at Iowa State University and Michigan State University. He also held Visiting Scientist positions at Intel Corporation, Panasonic Technologies, Institute of Infocomm Research (I2R), Singapore, and National ICT Australia (NICTA). He has been a Visiting Professor at the University of Padova, Italy and Yonsei University, and KAIST, South Korea.

Dr. Mohapatra was the editor-in-chief of the "IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing." He has served on the editorial board of the "IEEE Transactions on Computers," "IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing," "IEEE Transaction on Parallel and Distributed Systems," ACM WINET, and Ad Hoc Networks.

He has served as the Program Chair and the General Chair and has been on the program/organizational committees of several international conferences. He has been a Guest Editor for IEEE Network, "IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing," "IEEE Communications," "IEEE Wireless Communications," and the "IEEE Computer."

Dr. Mohapatra received his doctoral degree from Penn State University in 1993 and received an Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award in 2008. He is also the recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India.

Dr. Mohapatra received an Outstanding Research Faculty Award from the College of Engineering at the University of California, Davis. He received the HP Labs Innovation awards in 2011, 2012, and 2013. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a Fellow of AAAS.

Dr. Mohapatra’s research interests are in wireless networks, mobile communications, cybersecurity, and Internet protocols. He has published more than 400 papers on these topics in reputed conferences and journals. Dr. Mohapatra’s research has been funded through grants totaling about $15 million from the National Science Foundation, U.S. Department of Defense, U.S. Army Research Labs, Intel Corporation, Siemens, Panasonic Technologies, Hewlett Packard, Raytheon, ARM Research, and EMC Corporation.

Research Interests

Computer networks; wireless networks; mobile systems and communications; artificial intelligence; cybersecurity

Teaching Interests

Computer networks; computer architecture; computer networks for non-majors; ethics in an age of technology; advanced computer networks; mobile and wireless networks; internet QoS; wireless sensor networks; senior design projects


  • Ph.D., Computer Engineering Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 1993
  • M. S., Mathematics University of Rhode Island, RI 1989
  • B. S., Electrical Engineering National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India 1987

Honors and Awards

  • Fellow of AAAS, 2013
  • Fellow of IEEE, 2010
  • Distinguished Professor of UC Davis, 2019
  • Certificate of Recognition for Research Response to Community Crisis, APLU, 2021.
  • Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award, Pennsylvania State University, 2008
  • Outstanding Engineering Faculty Research Award, College of Engineering, UC Davis, 2011
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India, 2015
  • Biju Patnaik Lifetime Scientific Excellence Award, Government of Odisha, India, 2015
  • HP Labs Innovation Award, 2011, 2012, 2013
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, 2014-17
  • Paper published in ICCD-2000 was selected among the four most influential work during the first 30 years of ICCD conference (A Retrospective presented at the 30th ICCD-2012)
  • World Class University (WCU) Visiting Professor, KAIST, Korea, 2012-13
  • Mentor, Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research, 2015 (Dr. Parth Pathak)
  • Mentor, Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research, 2012 (Dr. Amit Pande)
  • Mentor, Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research, 2011 (Dr. Kai Zeng)
  • Advisor, Best Graduate Researcher Award, Computer Science Department, UC Davis, 2013 (Student: Xinlei Wang)
  • Advisor, Best Graduate Researcher Award, Computer Science Department, UC Davis, 2012 (Student: An Chan)
  • Advisor, Best Doctoral Dissertation Award from the College of Engineering, 2007 (Student: Chao Gui)
  • Outstanding Graduate Research Award, Pennsylvania State University, 1993

Best Paper Awards:

  • IEEE CNS, 2014 (Best Paper Runner Up)
  • IFIP Networking, 2014
  • ACM BodyNets, 2013
  • IEEE ICCCN, 2013
  • International Symposium on Wireless Personal Multimedia Communications, 2011
  • IEEE Wireless Mobile Computing (WiMob) Conference, 2009

Key Activities


  • IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, 2014 –


  • IEEE Fellows Selection Committee, 2010, 2011, 2015

Editorial Board:

  • IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, 2007 – 2012
  • IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, 2006 – 2010
  • ACM/Springer WINET Journal, 2004 – 2009
  • Ad Hoc Networks Journal, 2004 – 2009
  • IEEE Transactions on Computers, 1999 – 2003

Guest Editor:

  • Ad Hoc Networks, 2011
  • IEEE Wireless Communications, 2008
  • IEEE Communications, 2007
  • IEEE Trans. on Mobile Computing, Special Section, Oct-Dec. 2004
  • IEEE Computer, Special Issue on Internet Data Centers, Nov. 2004
  • IEEE Network, Special Issue on Multicasting, January/February 2003
  • Performance Evaluation Review, ACM SIGMETRICS, September 2001
  • Performance Evaluation Review, ACM SIGMETRICS, September 2000

Steering Committee:

  • IEEE SECON, 2005 –
  • IEEE Trans. on Mobile Computing, 2011 – 13

General Chair:

  • ICNP 2015
  • COMSNETS 2015
  • IEEE WOWMOM 2012
  • IEEE SECON 2011

Program Chair:

  • IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications and Networks (ICCCN), 2012
  • IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad hoc and Sensor Systems (MASS), 2010
  • IEEE International Symposium on a World of Wireless, Mobile, and Multimedia Networks (WoWMoM), 2009
  • International Conference on Quality of Service in Heterogeneous Wired/Wireless Networks (QShine), 2006
  • IEEE Workshop on Advances in Sensor Networks, 2006
  • IEEE Sensor and Ad hoc Communications and Networking Conference (SECON), 2004
  • International Conference on Information Technology, India, 2001
  • Workshop on Performance and Architecture of Web Servers, 2000, 2001
  • Workshop on Architectural and OS Support for Multimedia Applications, 1998

Program Vice-Chair:

  • INFOCOM, 2004
  • IEEE Mobile Ad hoc and Sensor Systems (MASS), 2004
  • International Conference on Parallel Processing, 2001

TPC Area Chair:

  • ICNP 2010, 2011, 2012
  • INFOCOM 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015