About Us

Student Success Council

The Student Success Council was formed in August 2010 and charged with the implementation of the Student Success Task Force recommendations, most notably the institutionalization of the USF student success initiative. The council continues to coordinate and drive the policies, programs, and practices to ensure that all USF students graduate in a timely manner with the degree of their choice, fully prepared for success in the work force or graduate and professional schools, with the highest levels of student satisfaction and the lowest levels of indebtedness.


Cynthia DeLuca
Vice President, Student Success


Ruth Huntley Bahr
Dean - Office of Graduate Studies

Moniquie Brown
President - Staff Senate

James Cavendish
Associate Professor and Chair - Department of Sociology

Roberta (Bobby) Collins
Director - Research, Innovation & Scholarly Endeavors (RISE), Morsani College of Medicine

Nithin Palyam
Student Body President

Christopher Duffy
Interim Vice President - Administraative Services

Deni Elliott
Interim Regional Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs and Vice Provost, Eleanor Poynter Jamison Chair in Media Ethics and Press Policy, St. Petersburg campus

Karen Frank
Assistant Dean - College of The Arts

Radford Janssens
Instructor - Mathematics & Statistics

Jennifer Lister
Associate Dean - College of Behaviorial & Community Sciences

Reginald Lucien
Associate Director of Academic Advising - The Judy Genshaft Honors College

Bill McCausland
Vice President & Executive Director - USF Alumni Association

Jackie Nelson
Senior Director - Undergraduate Programs, Muma College of Business

Carolina Nutt
Director - COMPASS Student Experience, St. Petersburg campus

Teeranai Ovathanasin
Assistant Regional Vice Chancellor - Student Success, Sarasota-Manatee campus

Robert Potter
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Kingsley Reeves
Assistant Professor, College of Engineering

Jennifer VanDeWoestyne
Assistant Director - Advising, Sarasota-Manatee campus

Ex Officio

Jessica (Jessie) Burgess
President - Administrative Advisory Council

Valeria Garcia
Assistant Vice President, Office of Decision Support

Carrie Purol
Director - Application Services, Information Technology

Executive Associate

Carmen Goldsmith
Special Assistant to the Vice President of Student Success