News and Events

NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar

DHS Banner

The USF Department of Communication is honored to have been selected as the host for the 2019 NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS), July 21-24, 2019.

The theme of the 2019 DHS will be "Communication, Engagement, and Social Justice."

DHS brings together promising doctoral students and distinguished faculty members from across the discipline and around the nation to discuss current topics in Communication. Approximately 30 doctoral students are chosen to participate based on submitted papers and recommendations from their advisors. Selected students will receive a travel voucher to put toward their travel to the DHS; all accommodations and other expenses are also provided. The seminars are held annually at a selected host institution. 

Faculty Leaders

Communication Studies:

Media and Society:

Rhetoric and/or Performance Studies:

The following individuals have been selected to attend the ​2019 Doctoral Honors Seminar:

Communication Studies

  • Comfort Tosin AdebayoUniversity of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • JhuCin (Rita) JhangThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Kyle KearnsThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Dayna KloeberArizona State University
  • Mackensie MinniearUniversity of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Toni MorganUniversity of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Robert RazzanteArizona State University
  • Jaime RobbUniversity of South Florida
  • Brett RobertsonThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Elizabeth SpencerUniversity of Kentucky
  • Billy TableThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Easton WollneyUniversity of Florida

​Media and Society

  • Md Korshed AlamUniversity of South Florida
  • Briana BarnerThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Brent HaleIndiana University
  • Ollie JeffersonHoward University
  • Elizabeth JenkinsOhio University
  • Abigail ReedFlorida State University
  • Lars Stoltzfus-BrownPenn State University
  • Larissa TeranThe University of Arizona

Rhetoric and/or Performance Studies

  • Anjuli BrekkeUniversity of Washington
  • William CooneyUniversity of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Zhao DingThe University of New Mexico
  • Cassidy EllisUniversity of Denver
  • Pamela FosterGeorgia State University
  • Lauren HunterUniversity of Maryland
  • Benjamin MannThe University of Utah
  • Hana MasriThe University of Texas at Austin
  • Taylor RifeArizona State University
  • Kate SiegfriedTexas A&M University