People

Faculty (Alphabetical)

Listings of faculty by rank as well as by chronological and geographical specialties are accessible here.

Name

Title

Areas of Focus

Arsenault, Raymond O.

John Hope Franklin Professor of Southern History and Florida Studies Program Cofounder

(St. Petersburg campus)

 

Belohlavek, John

belohlav@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

19th Century Political and Diplomatic History, Jacksonian America

Benadusi, Giovanna

benadusi@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Renaissance/Early Modern History, the Mediterranean, Social History, Gender and Class

Boterbloem, Kees

cboterbl@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Russian and Soviet History, Dutch History, History of European Empires

Byington, Richard

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

Florida History, Atlantic World Revolutions, the Early American Republic

Cali, Denise

denisecali@usf.edu

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

Classical Archaeology, Greek and Roman Civilization, Mediterranean Material Culture

Connolly, Brian

bconnolly@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

19th Century US History, History of Sexuality, Historical Theory, Kinship

Decker, Michael

mjdecker@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Byzantine History and Archaeology, Economy and Society of Late Antiquity

Fontaine, Darcie

dfontaine@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director

(Tampa campus)

Modern Europe and the World, French Colonialism, Gender Studies

Francis, J. Michael

Professor of History and Hough Family Chair of Florida Studies

(St. Petersburg campus)

 

Irwin, Julia

juliai@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

(Tampa campus)

20th Century U.S. and the World; International Humanitarianism and Foreign Assistance; Global History of Disasters

Johnson, David K.

davidjohnson@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

20th Century US History, the Cold War, History of Sexuality, Gay and Lesbian History

King, Matt

matthewking1@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Tampa campus)

The Crusades, the Medieval Mediterranean, Norman Sicily, Digital Humanities

Knight, Jennifer

jlknight@usf.edu

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

Medieval British Isles, Medieval Society and Identity, Women and Gender, Celtic Diaspora

Kopytoff, Larissa

Instructor

(St. Petersburg campus)

Colonial and Postcolonial Africa, History of Empires

Langford, Julie

langford@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Gender, Ethnicity, and Religion in the Roman Empire, Roman Literature and Material Culture, Numismatics

Levy, Philip

plevy@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Early America, Virginia History, Place and Landscape, Historical Archaeology, Public History

Mauldin, Erin Stewart

emauldin@mail.usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(St. Petersburg campus)

U.S. Environmental History, Civil War/Reconstruction, History of the U.S. South, African American History, Atlantic World

Murray, Suzanne P.

spmurray@usf.edu

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

Bronze Age History, Greek Art and Archaeology

Murray, William

murray@usf.edu

Mary and Gus Stathis Professor of Greek History

(Tampa campus)

Greek History and Archaeology, Naval History of Ancient Mediterranean Cultures

Novoa, Adriana

ainovoa@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Modern Argentina, Science in Latin America, Race and Gender in Latin America

O'Connor, Adrian

oconnora@mail.usf.edu

Associate Professor

(St. Petersburg campus)

Early Modern and Modern Europe; Eighteenth Century France

Ottanelli, Fraser

ottanelli@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Post-1865 US History, U.S. Radical Movements, Immigration and Ethnic History, Comparative Migration

Perry, J. Scott

perryjs@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Sarasota-Manatee campus)

Roman Empire, Ancient Sports, Modern Depictions of Antiquity, Fascism

Prince, K. Stephen

ksp@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director

(Tampa campus)

19th/20th Century US, History of the South, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Race and Racism

Ramos, Frances

framos@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Colonial Latin America, Bourbons and the Spanish Atlantic, Political Identity and Public Ceremony

Tanasi, Davide

dtanasi@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Archaeology of Sicily and Malta, Mediterranean Prehistory, Biomolecular Archaeology of the Mediterranean Diet, Digital Archaeology

Thomas, Dave

davidjthomas@usf.edu

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

Ancient Greece, Epigraphy, Digital Humanities

Yacovazzi, Cassandra L.

cyacovazzi@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Sarasota-Manatee campus)

 20th and 19th century US women’s history; consumer culture; religious history

Affiliate faculty

Name

Title Department

Alexopoulos, Golfo

galexopo@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies

Lahey, Laurie

lahey@usf.edu

Instructor

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies

Ponton, David

dponton@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies