People

Faculty (Alphabetical)

Listings of faculty by rank as well as by chronological and geographical specialties are accessible here.

Name

Title

Areas of Focus

Benadusi, Giovanna

benadusi@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Renaissance/Early Modern History, the Mediterranean, Social History, Gender and Class

Boterbloem, Kees

cboterbl@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Russian and Soviet History, Dutch History, History of European Empires

Byington, Richard

rbyington@usf.edu

Assistant Professor of Instruction

(Tampa campus)

Florida History, Atlantic World Revolutions, the Early American Republic

Cali, Denise

denisecali@usf.edu

Assistant Professor of Instruction

(Tampa campus)

Classical Archaeology, Greek and Roman Civilization, Mediterranean Material Culture

Connolly, Brian

bconnolly@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Department Chair

(Tampa campus)

19th Century US History, History of Sexuality, Historical Theory, Kinship

Decker, Michael

mjdecker@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Byzantine History and Archaeology, Economy and Society of Late Antiquity

Fontaine, Darcie

dfontaine@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director

(Tampa campus)

Modern Europe and the World, French Colonialism, Gender Studies

Francis, J. Michael

jmfrancis1@usf.edu

Professor of History and Hough Family Chair of Florida Studies

(St. Petersburg campus)

Florida History, Transatlantic History, Early Modern Paleography

Irwin, Julia

juliai@usf.edu

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

(Tampa campus)

20th Century U.S. and the World; International Humanitarianism and Foreign Assistance; Global History of Disasters

Johnson, David K.

davidjohnson@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

20th Century US History, the Cold War, History of Sexuality, Gay and Lesbian History

King, Matt

matthewking1@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Tampa campus)

The Crusades, the Medieval Mediterranean, Norman Sicily, Digital Humanities

Knight, Jennifer

jlknight@usf.edu

Associate Professor of Instruction

(Tampa campus)

Medieval British Isles, Medieval Society and Identity, Women and Gender, Celtic Diaspora

Kopytoff, Larissa

kopytoff@usf.edu

Assistant Professor of Instruction

(St. Petersburg campus)

Colonial and Postcolonial Africa, History of Empires

Levy, Philip

plevy@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Public History; Early Americal Historical Archaeology; Museums; Memory and Commemoration; Environmental Sustainability

Mauldin, Erin Stewart

emauldin@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(St. Petersburg campus)

U.S. Environmental History, Civil War/Reconstruction, History of the U.S. South, African American History, Atlantic World

Murray, William

murray@usf.edu

Mary and Gus Stathis Professor of Greek History

(Tampa campus)

Greek History and Archaeology, Naval History of Ancient Mediterranean Cultures

Novoa, Adriana

ainovoa@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Modern Argentina, Science in Latin America, Race and Gender in Latin America

O'Connor, Adrian

oconnora@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(St. Petersburg campus)

Early Modern and Modern Europe; Eighteenth Century France

Ottanelli, Fraser

ottanelli@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Post-1865 US History, U.S. Radical Movements, Immigration and Ethnic History, Comparative Migration

Perry, J. Scott

perryjs@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Sarasota-Manatee campus)

Roman Empire, Ancient Sports, Modern Depictions of Antiquity, Fascism

Prince, K. Stephen

ksp@usf.edu

Professor and Undergraduate Program Director

(Tampa campus)

19th/20th Century US, History of the South, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Race and Racism

Ramos, Frances

framos@usf.edu

Associate Professor

(Tampa campus)

Colonial Latin America, Bourbons and the Spanish Atlantic, Political Identity and Public Ceremony

Tanasi, Davide

dtanasi@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

Archaeology of Sicily and Malta, Mediterranean Prehistory, Biomolecular Archaeology of the Mediterranean Diet, Digital Archaeology

Yacovazzi, Cassandra L.

cyacovazzi@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Sarasota-Manatee campus)

 20th and 19th century US women’s history; consumer culture; religious history

Affiliate faculty

Name

Title Department

Alexopoulos, Golfo

galexopo@usf.edu

Professor

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies

Lahey, Laurie

lahey@usf.edu

Associate Professor of Instruction

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies

Knight, Matt

mtknight@usf.edu

Assistant Professor of Instruction and Associate Librarian

(Tampa campus)

USF Libraries

Ponton, David

dponton@usf.edu

Assistant Professor

(Tampa campus)

School of Interdisciplinary Global Studies

Emeritus Faculty

Name Area of Focus

Arsenault, Ray

roarsenault@usf.edu

American History, Civil Rights History

Belohlavek, John

belohlav@usf.edu

19th Century Political and Diplomatic History, Jacksonian America 

Mormino, Gary

gmormino@usf.edu

Italian History, Florida History