University of South Florida


USF named one of the nation’s top 10 producers of Fulbright scholars

The Fulbright Scholars 75th anniversary logo

The University of South Florida is one of the top producers of Fulbright scholars in the United States for 2020-21, according to a new list released by the U.S. Department of State and first published by the Chronicle of Higher Education

With nine faculty members earning the highly competitive awards, USF is one of the top 10 producing institutions in the nation. USF placed ahead of several members of the Association of American Universities (AAU), including the University of Florida, New York University, Purdue University and the University of Washington. The AAU is a prestigious group of the top 65 public and private research universities in the U.S. and Canada, which USF aspires to join. 

USF is consistently one of the nation’s top producers of Fulbright scholars.

Faculty who receive Fulbright awards are given the opportunity to travel abroad, explore new perspectives, establish new international collaborations and potentially discover new breakthroughs that can have a global impact. These new insights and experiences are then integrated into their classroom, allowing their students and fellow faculty to mutually benefit and further the development of the USF community as global citizens. The USF Fulbright scholars represent a wide range of disciplines, including biomedical engineering, education, philosophy and psychology.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright program has given over 390,000 passionate and accomplished students, scholars, teachers, artists and professionals of all backgrounds and fields the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to important international problems. The global Fulbright network fosters mutual understanding between the United States and partner nations, advances knowledge across communities and improves lives around the globe.

USF's 2020-2021 Fulbright Scholars
Fulbright Scholar Country of Award
Kevin Yelvington Spain
Steven Roach Spain
Maggie Kusenbach Austria
Trina Spencer South Africa
Evangeline Linkos Republic of Georgia
Rachel May Colombia
Tiffany Chenneville Canada
Sara Flory Malta
Kevin Wang China

Return to article listing