Research

Biomolecule Transformations and Analysis

Faculty Involved in This Research Area
Faculty Member Office Location Lab Location Email Description
Bill Baker
  • BSF 308
  • BSF 358
  • BSF 362
bjbaker@usf.edu   
Jianfeng Cai
  • NES 408B
  • NES 405
  • NES 406
  • NES 407
jianfengcai@usf.edu  Design, synthesis and investigation of bioactive peptidomimetics; development of novel biomaterials; development of novel molecular probes and drug candidates; protein and nucleic acid surface recognition and modulation of protein-protein interactions.
Juan Del Valle
  • NES 331A
N/A delvalle@usf.edu  Our laboratory is actively engaged in the organic synthesis of peptide mimics, natural products, and their congeners. These compounds are used to probe molecular recognition events and to target disease-relevant pathways. We are particularly fascinated by the impact of structurally complex amino acids on conformation and bioactivity.
Theresa Evans-Nguyen
  • SCA 416
N/A evansnguyen@usf.edu  Research in the Evans-Nguyen lab interfaces chemical analysis and engineering principles to explore various aspects of mass spectrometry instrumentation. Chemical targets span the fields of defense, space, and the clinical lab.
Ioannis Gelis
  • SCA 430
N/A igelis@usf.edu   
Randy Larsen
  • SCA 424
  • CHE 205E
  • SCA 413
  • SCA 414
rwlarsen@usf.edu   
Xiaopeng Li
  • BSF 306
  • BSF 357
  • BSF 359
xiaopengli1@usf.edu  Dr. Li's research activities are focused on supramolecular chemistry based on coordination-driven self-assembly. His research group is centered on the design, synthesis and self-assembly of giant metallo-supramolecules with increasing complexity and diversity for the development of functional materials with high-performance.
Abdul Malik
  • SCA 426
  • SCA 415
  • SCA 440
malik@usf.edu  Dr. Malik's research activities are focused on separations chemistry. His research group is engaged in developing advanced technology for high-performance differential migration micro separation techniques in analytical chemistry.
David Merkler
  • BSF 307
N/A merkler@usf.edu   
Li-june Ming
  • BSF 303
  • BSF 303
ming@usf.edu   
Arjan van der Vaart
  • IDRB 206A
  • IDRB 206
avandervaart@usf.edu   
Lee Woodcock
  • IDRB 204
N/A hlw@usf.edu