Research

Drug Discovery and Medicinal Chemistry

Faculty Involved in This Research Area
Faculty Member Office Location Lab Location Email Description
Bill Baker
  • BSF 308
  • BSF 358
  • BSF 362
bjbaker@usf.edu   N/A
Kirpal Bisht
  • SCA 403
  • SCA 434
  • SCA 438
kbisht@usf.edu   N/A
Jiangfeng Cai
  • NES 408B
  • NES 405
  • NES 406
  • NES 407
jianfengcai@usf.edu  Design, Synthesis and investigation of bioactive peptidomimetics; development of novel biomaterials; development of novel molecular probes and drug candidates; protein and nucleic acid surface recognition and modulation of protein-protein interactions.
Juan Del Valle
  • NES 331A
N/A delvalle@usf.edu  Our laboratory is actively engaged in the organic synthesis of peptide mimcs, natural products, and their cogeners.  These compounds are used to probe molecular recognition events and to target disease-relevant pathways.  We are particularly fascinated by the impact of structurally complex amino acids on conformation and bioactivity.
Ioannis Gelis
  • SCA 430
N/A igelis@usf.edu   N/A
Wayne Guida
  • CHE 205E
N/A wguida@usf.edu   N/A
James Leahy  N/A N/A jwleahy@usf.edu   N/A
Xiaopeng Li
  • BSF 306
  • BSF 357
  • BSF 359
xiaopengli1@usf.edu  Dr. Li's research activites are focused on the supramolecular chemistry based on coordination-driven self-assembly.  His research group is centered on the design, synthesis and self-assembly of giant metallo-supramolecules with increasing complexity and diversity for the development of functional materials with high performance.
Justin Lopchuk
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
N/A jlopchuk@health.usf.edu  Our research program is grounded in synthetic organic chemistry with a specific focus on the development of new reactions, the design of new reagents, and the total synthesis of natural products with anti-cancer activity.  In collaboration with other research groups at Moffitt, we will apply our chemistry to synthesize chemical probes designed to interrogate the function of key oncoproteins and immune-regulatory proteins, while ultimately seeking to develop these probes and lead compounds into novel anti-cancer drugs.
David Merkler
  • BSF 307
N/A merkler@usf.edu   N/A
Li-june Ming
  • BSF 303
  • BSF 303
ming@usf.edu   N/A
Xiaodong (Michael) Shi
  • BSF 310
N/A xmshi@usf.edu   N/A
Edward Turos
  • NES 330B
  • NES 329
  • NES 330
eturos@usf.edu   N/A
Arjan van der Vaart
  • IDRB 206A
  • IDRB 206
avandervaart@usf.edu   N/A
Lee Woodcock
  • IDRB 204A
  • IDRB 204
hlw@usf.edu  Prof. Woodcock's group is primarily focused on developing and employing computational methodology to solve interesting problems in the fields of biophysics, medicinical chemistry (i.e., computer-aided drug design), and environmental remediation. Currently, this is focused on two critical issues: (1) developing methods for accurately and efficienty computing free energies of biological systems (e.g., solvation properties, small molecule binding, enzymatically catalyzed reactions, etc.) and (2) developing and applying computational methodology to characterize and engineer enzymatic systems to biologically recycle plastic waste. These efforts are critical to solving one of the planets biggest environmental problems with a PETase: An Enzyme that Degrades Plastics receiving word-wide attention. For exampe, this work was PETase: Daily Show 2018 Earth Day Special.