College of Engineering News Room

Bob Hartnett to Receive 2018 Transportation Award


bob hartnett

Bob Hartnett, TEAMFL President and CEO, will receive the 2018 Florida Transportation Hall of Fame Award at the 16th Annual Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR) Transportation Achievement Awards event on November 1, 2018, at the University of South Florida Embassy Suites Hotel on the Tampa Campus. Hartnett's selection was announced by Thornton Williams, CUTR Advisory Board Chair and Managing Partner of the Williams Law Group P.A., Tallahassee.

In 1966, Bob was elected to the Florida House of Representatives, the youngest member elected to the Florida Legislature from Miami-Dade County. He served four terms through 1975. From 1970–1975 he served as Floor Leader for the Democratic Leadership, Chairman of Banking and Finance and various Committees related to transportation.

After retiring from the Florida Legislature, Bob went on to a career of advising and consulting with numerous entities related to transportation, including the Greater Orlando Aviation Authority and the Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority. This allowed him to develop a greater overall picture of multimodal transportation needs in Central Florida. In addition, he represented Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority's Lynx Transit System (previously known as Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Transportation Authority (OSOTA)). He also provided leadership to the Pasco County Expressway Authority for the development of The SunCoast Parkway. Bob also advised Safety Services, Inc., for the legislative development of red light cameras to provide safety for the traveling public.

Cities across Florida turned to Bob for advice on traffic safety and control. He was instrumental in attracting Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) grants for the City of Coral Gables to implement modern roundabouts. The City of Winter Park also received grants with his assistance for additional traffic calming devices, such as brick streets.

After many years of experience in the transportation Industry, Bob Hartnett created and co-founded Transportation and Expressway Membership of Florida (TEAMFL) in 1997. He recognized the need for Florida's Expressway Authorities, Florida's Turnpike Enterprise, and FDOT to join together with other related agencies and businesses to share information and exchange ideas about transportation innovations. These activities were frequently developed in conjunction with the governor's appointed Florida Transportation Commission and frequently enacted into Legislation and/or Administrative policy.

Transportation leaders such as Jim Ely, former Executive Director of Florida's Turnpike Enterprise and FDOT District Secretary, A. Wayne Rich, former Chairman of Central Florida Expressway Authority, and Sonny Holtzman, former Miami-Dade Expressway Authority Chairman recognize Bob's bold and visionary efforts to improve transportation in the State of Florida. They enthusiastically join the CUTR Advisory Board in congratulating Bob Hartnett on receiving the Florida Transportation Hall of Fame Award for 2018.

The Florida Transportation Hall of Fame Award has been presented by USF's Center for Urban Transportation Research annually since 2003 to an individual who has made significant contributions to the transportation field. Past recipients of the Florida Transportation Hall of Fame Award have been Maurice Ferre (former Miami mayor), Buddy Dyer (Mayor of Orlando), Bill Johnson (former Florida Secretary of Commerce), Jim Sebesta (former Florida State Senator and Florida Transportation Commissioner), and Florida State Senator and current Florida Transportation Commissioner James Hargrett. The award is presented at the annual CUTR Transportation Achievement Awards event, which raises funds for transportation student scholarships awards.  For more information and to register please follow this link.

The Transportation and Expressway Authority Membership of Florida (TEAMFL) was formed in 1997 to facilitate the exchange of information among toll agencies and the transportation industry. The TEAMFL Board of Directors is made up of Expressway Authority Board members, Executive staff of the eight Expressway Authorities. It also includes four Transit Authorities as well as a Commissioner from the Governor's appointed Florida Transportation Commission. There are over 200 active Corporate Members participating within TEAMFL. There are over 1200 members registered to attend TEAMFL conferences in 2018. TEAMFL continues to grow and evolve to meet the needs of the Florida Transportation Industry. The Public Sector group represents members of Toll Authorities, Expressway Authorities, Transit Authorities and Bridge Authorities, which are created under Chapters 348 or 349 of the Florida Statutes. The Private Sector group is comprised of business organizations involved in furnishing goods or professional services to the development, ownership, operation, financing or planning of limited access expressways, toll roads or bridges.

About CUTR
The Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR) was established by the Florida Legislature in 1988 in the College of Engineering at the University of South Florida, located in Tampa, Florida. CUTR's mission is to proactively support implementation of innovative multimodal transportation solutions and develop leaders through research, education and action. CUTR provides high quality, objective expertise in the form of insightful research, in-depth policy analysis, comprehensive training and education, and effective technical assistance that translates directly into benefits for CUTR's project sponsors. CUTR's faculty of 45 full-time research faculty, and 60 students, combines academic knowledge and substantial "real world" experience in developing innovative, implementable solutions for all modes of transportation. The multidisciplinary research faculty includes experts in engineering, planning, economics, public policy, and geography. CUTR logs over $19 million per year in expenditures through contracts and grants to support its research, education, training and technical assistance missions.