Once a page has been edited, it can either be sent to another user for approval, or it can be published directly to the site. Note: prior to your site going live for the first time, all pages/changes, etc. will be published to the test site by default.
Once your site has launched, you will have the option of publishing to either the test site or the live site. The ability to publish pages is based on permissions. To access the publish options from the folder structure, click on the Publish dropdown menu under the Options column.
A Publish button will appear at the top of the page.
Click on this button, which will bring up a publish screen. After completing the elements described below, click the Publish button that appears at the bottom of the publish screen.
This allows a final spelling, link, and accessibility check to be completed before publishing the page. Find out more about how to run checks before publishing.
This provides the option to publish to the live (production) site or the test site. This menu only appears after your site has been launched. Prior to that, all pages are automatically published to your test site.
When users want to publish content, but wish to do so at a later date, they can utilize the Schedule tool. A scheduled publish can only be canceled or modified by the user who set the schedule or an administrator.
Clicking "Add Schedule" from the Publish helper window will bring up a screen in which the scheduling can be completed.
- Select the date and time, and indicate whether or not the publish should repeat.
- Create an optional email message to be sent upon completion of the publish to the
Dashboard by including a "Subject" and "Message".
- Keeping the checkbox next to “Send Copy to Email” checked will send the completed publish message to your @usf.edu email address as well as within the USF CMS. If this is unchecked, the message will be sent through the USF CMS only.
- Click "Schedule".
This will allow a version description to be included in order to indicate what was updated and why the page is being published. This can also be used after a page has been reverted to a previous version.
Once the publish is complete, the system will present a success message, which includes a link to view the published page in a new window.
It is also possible to publish multiple pages within a directory simultaneously. Keep in mind that doing this does not allow for:
- Final Check
- Version Description(s)
From within the folder structure, check the boxes next to the page(s) to be published and click the “Publish” button at the top of the screen. Keep in mind that the system will only allow pages to be published that do not require approval and are not checked out to another user. If a warning is displayed, uncheck the page(s) indicated in the warning, and click “Publish” again.