About Us

Advisory Board

Provost Council on Teaching and Learning Excellence
This Council functioned, until 2020, as an advisory board for the Academy for Teaching and Learning Excellence on matters related to teaching and learning. This was a one-year term position, with an award of $1000. Three applications were chosen from among the selected awardees for the Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award each year.

Duties for Council members included judging Teaching Assistant (TA) and Faculty Teaching Awards, advising ATLE on programming, and also functioning as conduits for two-way communication to the faculty in the Colleges.

Members of the Provost Council on Teaching and Learning Excellence


Chantale Begin, Integrative Biology
Judith B. Bryant, Psychology
Beth Jones-Mason, Cell Biology, Microbiology, and Molecular Biology


* Heather Sellers, English
* Jennifer Cainas
* Erica Toothman


* Kyaien Conner, Mental Health Law & Policy
* Esra Akin-Kivanc, The Arts
Andrea Smith, Communication Sciences and Disorders


Kyna Betancourt, Criminology
Scott Lewis, Chemistry
Steven Surrency, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Previous Advisory Board Members