General Website Info

Checking Out a Page

Once the page to be edited has been identified, it will need to be checked out. A page may be checked out from the following locations by clicking the unlit light bulb icon:

Pages are marked as “checked out” when they are locked to a user. Only one person can check out a page at a time. When the page is checked out to a user, no other users, including administrators, can make changes to the page. This includes publishing the page. The only options users will have, other than the one who has the page checked out, are “Preview,” checking the “Log,” and setting “Reminders”. Users should check in pages they no longer need. Publishing pages will also check back in pages.

There are multiple reasons that a page will appear as checked out to a user, and there are different indicators to help make clear why a page is marked as checked out, and whether or not the page is checked out to another user or the logged in user.

Pages List View

Screenshot of how to check out a page in the CMS from the pages list view.
File Navigation Sidebar

Screenshot of how to check out a page in the File Navigation sidebar

My Checked-Out Content Gadget

Screenshot of how to check out a page in the My Checked-Out Content gadget

Preview and Edit Views

Screenshot of how to check out a page in the CMS from the preview or edit views.