People

Contact

Front Desk

Phone: 813-974-2421
Fax: 813-974-2270
Location: Cooper Hall, 3rd Floor
E-mail: englishdepartment@usf.edu

Mailing Address

Department of English
University of South Florida
4202 E Fowler Ave, CPR-107
Tampa, FL 33620-5550

Administration

Department Chair

Dr. Laura Runge
813-974-9496
runge@usf.edu 

Associate Chair

Dr. Marty Gould 
813-974-9474
mgould@usf.edu  

Assistant to the Chair

Dr. Joyce Karpay
813-974-9520
jkarpay@usf.edu 

Director of Graduate Studies

Dr. John Lennon
813-974-2663
jflennon@usf.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr. Nicole Discenza
813-974-1887
ndiscenza@usf.edu 

 

 

Interim Director of Composition

Dr. Dianne Donnelly
813-974-2421
ddonnelly@usf.edu

Associate Director of Composition

Dr. Alaina Tackitt
813-974-5051
atackitt@usf.edu

Director of Creative Writing

Dr. John Fleming
813-974-9567
johnfleming@usf.edu

Director of Literature

Dr. Susan Mooney
813-974-9504
smooney@usf.edu

Director of the Undergraduate Program in
Professional Writing, Rhetoric, and Technology

Dr. Lisa Meloncon
813-974-9552
meloncon@usf.edu

 

Advisors

Undergraduate Advisor

Mr. Mike Stowe
813-974-8508 
englishadvise@usf.edu  

Contact Mike for advising questions, or schedule an appointment here.

Non-USF Students can schedule appointments here.

Graduate Advisor to Master's Students

Dr. Jessica Cook
813-974-9576
jlcook4@usf.edu

Graduate Advisor to PhD Students

Dr. John Lennon
813-974-2663
jflennon@usf.edu

Staff

Academic Services Administrator

Debra Garcia
813-974-9461 
garciad2@usf.edu

Contact Debra for issues involving financial matters, including budgeting and appointments.

Academic Services Administrator

Deedra Wollert
813-974-9463 
dwollert@usf.edu   

Contact Deedra for FYC scheduling, FAIR reporting, and Department Office Space or computer issues.

Graduate Program Specialist

Marissa Klippenstein
813-974-2424 
marissaklipp@usf.edu   

Contact Marissa for all graduate student related questions, including admission requirements, assistantships, and policies.

Undergraduate Program Specialist

Jen Tavery
813-974-9460 
jtavery@usf.edu   

Contact Jen for room reservations, website & social media updates, syllabi, and student evaluations of instruction.

Receptionist

Alexis Shinawongse
813-974-2421 
englishdepartment@usf.edu   

Contact Alexis for general department questions.