Other Registration and Payment Fees
Excess Hours Surcharge Fall 2022- Summer 2023
In 2009, the Florida Legislature implemented Section 1009.286, Florida Statutes to encourage students to complete their baccalaureate degree as quickly and efficiently as possible. It established what is commonly referred to as an "Excess Credit Hour Surcharge." The provisions of this section became effective for students who entered a Florida community college or a Florida state university for the first time in the 2009-2010 academic year and thereafter. The bill requires universities to add a surcharge to each credit hour taken in excess of the total hours calculated, based on a percentage defined in law. See the following table:
|Admit Term||Amount||Qualified Hours||Charged|
|Prior to Fall 2009||NONE||n/a||n/a|
|Fall 2009 – Summer 2011||$52.53||For credits above 120% of total program hours||Per Credit Hour|
|Fall 2011 – Summer 2012||$105.07||For credits above 115% of total program hours||Per Credit Hour|
|Fall 2012 and thereafter||$105.07||For credits above 110% of total program hours||Per Credit Hour|
Other Registration/Payment Fees Fall 2022 - Summer 2023
This list includes some of the fees other than tuition that may be assessed to students when they register for courses. It is not an all inclusive list of the fees a student might be charged.
|A&S Flat Fee||$7.00||Activities and Services Fee. Assessed to all students.||Once Per Term|
|Athletic Flat Fee||$10.00||Assessed to all students.||Once Per Term|
|Tampa-Student Union Enhancement Flat Fee||$20.00||Assessed to all students with Tampa as their home campus. Fee for the maintenance of the Marshall Center.||Once Per Term|
|Repeat Course Surcharge 2022-2023||$189.74||Third attempt of an undergraduate course. Charged in addition to the regular per credit hour charge.||Per Credit Hour|
|Late Registration Fee||$100.00||Assessed against students who do not initiate registration in the regular registration period. Students who are reinstated for courses cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees will also be assessed the $100 Late Registration Fee||Once Per Term|
|Late Payment Fee||$100.00||Payment of tuition and fees after the deadline. Also charged when a check for tuition is returned by the bank.||Once Per Term|
|Distance Learning Fees||$30.00||The 2008 Florida Legislature authorized universities to charge distance learning fees
to recover the costs of developing and delivering distance learning courses.
If a course has this fee it will be listed under "Base Fees' when you perform an OASIS class schedule search.
|Per Credit Hour|
|Off Campus Fees||varies||Fees charged for off campus courses at locations other than regular state funded campuses. If a course has this fee it will be listed under "Base Fees' when you perform an OASIS class schedule search.||Per Credit Hour|
|Facilities and Equipment Fee||varies||Fee for the use of instructional laboratory equipment. If a course has this fee it will be listed under "Base Fees' when you perform an OASIS class schedule search.||Per Class|
|Lab and Material Fees||varies||Fees assessed for the cost of instructional materials and supplies for certain courses.If a course has this fee it will be listed under "Base Fees' when you perform an OASIS class schedule search.||Per Class|
|Return Check/NSF Fee||$25.00||Assessed for each returned check regardless of the check amount.||Per Returned Check|