In The News

Student News

April 2022

As the popularity of the Pinellas Trail and electric bikes grow dramatically, Forward Pinellas is hearing complaints about speeding and discourteous behavior, and they looked into the issue. MURP student Alex Burns, an intern at Forward Pinellas, explains that speeding is mainly perception.

January 2022

MURP student Fatima Elkott is one of two recipients of the 2021 American Planning Association (APA) Florida Minority Scholarship.


December 2021

Congratulations to our Fall 2021 graduates!

MPA degree: Glen Aleo, Ashley Bernal, Katherine Bleakly, Connor Donovan, Cayla Duckworth, Rusty Ennis, Christopher Findley, Aubrey Fuller, Gabriella Gonzalez, Octavia Jarnegan, Edward Lewis, Denver Lowe, Rebecca Moistner, Takia Moss, Humayra Qadir, Shelley Rossetter, and Daniel Schoel.

MURP degree: Alvaro Gabaldon, Miguel Nieves, Megan Nixon, Dylan Prins, and Vanessa Ramirez.

November 2021


MPA student Kayon Henderson was named the City of Tampa's Manager of Housing & Community Development. Her promotion follows a series of accomplishments and dedicated service, which over the years has helped thousands of struggling families and vulnerable individuals secure a safe place to live. Sharply monitoring the distribution of more than 80 million dollars in federal and state grant funding, Kayon has helped carve the path to meet Mayor Jane Castor's ambitious housing affordability goals and in her new role, will only strengthen and catapult this effort. We're incredibly proud of Kayon's accomplishments within the Tampa Bay community!

October 2021


MPA student Mari Nicole Rosales was nominated and selected to serve on the University of South Florida's Graduate Council for the 2021-2022 academic year. As a Graduate Student Representative, she will serve on the Policy & Fellowship Committee, which reviews policies and makes recommendations for revisions as needed. The committee also assists in reviewing the fellowships administered by USF's Office of Graduate Studies and makes recommendations for awarding these. We’re very proud of Mari Nicole and we know that she will represent our School well in this important role!

August 2021

Fresh from earning accreditation with the Planning Accreditation Board (PAB), USF's Master of Urban & Regional Planning program welcomed its largest ever incoming cohort with 17 new students! The class of 2023 are working on many exciting initiatives including helping plan Tampa’s coastal areas as part of a community engaged project, pondering the potential for electric vehicles as part of campus mobility solutions, and working at area planning organizations including Tindale Oliver, the Planning Commission and MPO, Forward Pinellas, and the Tampa Downtown Partnership!

Congratulations to our Summer 2021 graduates!

MURP degree: Gerald Galloway, Taylor Hague, and Alexander Steady.

May 2021

Congratulations to our Spring 2021 graduates!

MPA degree: Scott Burrows, Xavier Colon, Kendrick Donnelly, Brad Gilkes, Kaitlyn Stelzer, and Gwendella Washington.

MURP degree: Austin Britt, Christopher Giles, Daniele Green, Lauren O'Neill, and Austin Sipiora.


December 2020

Congratulations to our Fall 2020 graduates!

MPA degree: Jerell Blenman, Leona Crumbley, Charles Martinez Cartagena, Sean McGowan, Amanda Torrence, and Larry Washington.

MURP degree: Vasilya Allakhverdieva and Tanya Merkle.

August 2020

Congratulations to our Summer 2020 graduates!

MURP degree: Alexis Boback, Dominique Boyer, Amanda Harig, Andrew Harris, and Mercy Muga.

May 2020

Congratulations to our Spring 2020 graduates!

MPA degree: Richard Alvarez, Matthew Chernesky, Eric Denney, Samantha Genske-Condon, Ervin Harris, Boniswa Joseph, Kelly Kautz, Michael Manning, Connor Masella, Nailia Ogunnaike, Bernadette Petika, Ieeshia Reed, Jacob Richardson, Jessica Samaniego, Julia Shelly, and Eric Sineath.

MURP degree: Samuel Becker, Kayla Burrows, Wyatt Burttschell, Alayna Delgado, Hemashree Dunakhe, Diego Guerra, Connor MacDonald, Sean Martin, and Fangzi Zhang.


December 2019

Congratulations to our Fall 2019 graduates!

MPA degree: Aimee Carpenter, Rodnecia Hemmingway, Danielle McCarthy, Michael McLaughlin, Solomon Mukasa, Chelsea Mulligan, Kursad Ozdemir, Ozlem Ozdemir, Karina Pogosiantc, Taylor Sanchez, Taja Sumpter, and Pam Sundown.

MURP degree: Corey Gray, Alyssa Livingstone, Trinity Miller, and Hanbo Zhou.

November 2019

MURP student Alayna Delgado is one of the seven winners of the 2019 Georgia Brosch Memorial Transportation Scholarship, awarded by USF's Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR). You can view the interviews of the winners here (fast forward to 1:41 to see Alayna’s).

August 2019

Congratulations to our Summer 2019 graduates!

MURP degree: Jesse Ballard, Thomas Biamonte, Tatiana Childress, Jian Gao, Shengkai Gao, Dayna Lazarus, Sabrina Marrero, Alexia Rotberg, and David Saroea.

May 2019


Congratulations to our Spring 2019 graduates!

MPA degree: Reginald Dagsa, Cristina De Jesus, Meghan Engleson, Sane Haidara, Sean Lopez, Tommy Maldonado, Stephen Mallory, Yana Matiyuk, Sasha Oliver, Alexis Searfoss, Gamze Suler, and Okan Suler.

MURP degree: Saad Mirza, Christopher Moorman, and Nicole Tremblay.

January 2019

MURP student Diego Guerra is one of two recipients of the 2018 American Planning Association (APA) Florida Minority Scholarship.


December 2018


Congratulations to our Fall 2018 graduates!

MPA degree: Christopher Barnes, Elizabeth Bolles, Jacob Dorff, Zoe Jenkins, Carol Marrero-Placeres, Megan Orlando, Jose Ventura, and Matthew Wotowiec.

MURP degree: Vanko Antonov, Corinn Beem, Jensen Hackett, Ryan McCaffrey, Amna Parson, Hanna Shaffer, Shuyu Wang, and Boyang Xi.

November 2018

MURP student Dayna Lazarus is one of the three winners of the 2018 Georgia Brosch Memorial Transportation Scholarship, awarded by USF's Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR). You can view the interviews of the winners here (fast forward to 2:16 to see Dayna’s).

MURP student Nicole Tremblay was named the 2018 U.S. Department of Transportation National Center for Transit Research (NCTR) Student of the Year. You can view her interview here.

August 2018

Congratulations to our Summer 2018 graduates!

MPA degree: Amber Ratz.

MURP degree: Brandon Berry, Waldo Carbo, Yikun Luo, Andrea Papandrew, and Emily Phelan.

May 2018

Congratulations to our Spring 2018 graduates!

MPA degree: Choung Mi Akehurst, Jordan Biegler, John Dauphinais, Erica Nelson, Evelin Ocampo, Caroline Polanco, Lourdes Rodriguez, Johnathan Sims, Francis Smith, Janae Thomas, Robert Toadvine, and Edgardo Valentin.

MURP degree: Eric Adams, Sean Baraoidan, Hatairat Chancherdphol, Yuzhou Chen, Kevie Defranc, Soomin Kim, Kiran Kumar Navaneethakumar, Matthew Pleasant, Jennifer Sheppard, and Sheila Tirey.