In The News

Honors & Awards


MURP Associate Professor Dr. Elizabeth Strom had the opportunity to serve as Visiting Professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business (Wirschaftsuniversität Wien) during the Spring 2017 semester through the auspices of the Fulbright Scholar Grant. She taught two undergraduate courses on urban development issues, gave guest lectures, and carried out research on urban development issues in Austria's capital.


MPA Program Director Dr. Stephen Aikins was awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant to teach and conduct research in Ghana during the 2016/2017 academic year. During his one year stay in Ghana, he taught three courses, including public sector accounting and finance at the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA). Additionally, he conducted research in public financial management and wrote an article with policy recommendations for Ghana's government on how to increase Ghana's revenue generation from property taxes and the informal sector of the economy. Furthermore, he co-trained public procurement officials and other stakeholders in a workshop on international best practices in procurement. Finally, Dr. Aikins set up a scholarship fund for brilliant but needy students at GIMPA and also donated backpacks and books to needy students in a basic school in partnership with the Ghanaian Association of Tampa Bay.


MPA Associate Professor Dr. John Daly received his third Fulbright Scholar Grant o Swaziland in June-July 2016. Working with the faculty at the University of Swaziland, and its Department of Political and Administrative Studies (Public Administration and Political Science), Dr. Daly developed a course framework for initiating a new Bachelor's Degree in Governance and Public Policy.


MPA alum Dorian Mergler, and her Southeastern Regional teammates, won the second annual NASPAA Student Simulation Competition focused on global warming, in which they developed a comprehensive plan to address climate change.


Zephyrhills City Manager Dr. Steven Spina received the 2015 Picot B. Floyd Public Service Leadership Award.